Wrap up of 2010

Here I am back on the blog! I  got out of the habit and I’ve really missed blogging. I hope to make more regular updates in 2011.

To get back up on my blogging feet, I thought I would start with this survey from The Perpetual Page-Turner. I don’t have many books to choose from or my “best of” list, since I only read 29 books this year, but here I go! Below that, I’ve posted my stats for the year.

Happy New Year everyone!

1. Best book of 2010? I have 2 books I could not stop thinking about after reading: A Dog’s Purpose and Unwind. My top choice for the year has to be A Dog’s Purpose.

2. Worst book of 2010? I know I did start and then stop a book this year. But for the life of me, I can’t remember what it was! That really is my worst book of the year because I couldn’t read it. Out of the ones I read, probably Eclipse because I’m not really a fan of the series.

3. Most Disappointing Book of 2010? As I look back over my list of read books, I realize that I can’t remember anything about the book Story of a Girl. Even after read the synopsis, I can’t recall reading it all. I don’t know if disappointing is the best place to list it, but I’m going to.

4. Most surprising (in a good way!) book of 2010? The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I did try reading this once earlier in the year and couldn’t get into it. My aunt told me to try it again and I’m so glad I did. I loved it and soon after read the second book. I hope to read the third one soon.

5. Book you recommended to people most in 2010? A Dog’s Purpose Instead of recommending it, I gave it to many people for Christmas.
6. Best series you discovered in 2010? The Millennium trilogy. I feel like I was the last one on the planet to get into it.

7. Favorite new authors you discovered in 2010? Stieg Larsson, Neal Shusterman, W. Bruce Cameron

8. Most hilarious read of 2010? I don’t think I have one this year.

9. Most thrilling, unputdownable book in 2010? The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo and The Passage
10. Book you most anticipated in 2010? Mockingjay

11. Favorite cover of a book you read in 2010? I didn’t have one this year.

12. Most memorable character in 2010? Katniss Everdeen from Mockingjay and the dog from A Dog’s Purpose

13. Most beautifully written book in 2010?

14. Book that had the greatest impact on you in 2010? A Dog’s Purpose

15. Book you can’t believe you waited UNTIL 2010 to finally read? The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Here are my stats for reading in 2010

Books read wrap up

  • Total number of books: 30
  • Total number of pages: 9,951
  • Male authors: 12
  • Female authors: 18
  • Fiction: 25
  • Nonfiction: 5
  • Graphic Novels: 3
  • Young Adult: 9
  • Middle Grade: 5

I did not meet my goal of 100… I didn’t even do as well as last year (58 books).

As for challenges, I completed 2, yep only 2 challenges.

Challenges completed:

Bring on 2011!

5 Responses

  1. Thanks for your comment on my post re. nook. I’ll pop back tomorrow to see what you’ve written up about ereaders. In the meantime I wanted to let you know that seeing this post inspired me to try to do this survey myself.

  2. I miss you and I hope you have more time to blog this upcoming year. I’ll be here whether you post a lot or a little. 🙂

    ps – I didn’t really like Story of a Girl and I can definitely see how it would be forgettable.

  3. Karen – Your post was such a great post. If I do end up getting a NOOK, I know I will be going back to that post of yours for help.

    Amanda – I’m going to try really hard to make the time. It’s good to be back. 🙂

  4. Wow, I’ve just written an article for the magazine I write for about the most memorable book/author this year. Guess who? Larsson 🙂 My greatest discovery of 2010. And I loved Mockingjay too.

    Happy New Year!

  5. I like how you laid this out. I have to do a “best of” post but I hate doing them because I realize what may be best for me, may only be so-so for someone else. I end up using a lot of disclaimers which is silly really.

    Happy New Year!!

Leave a comment