Sunday Salon: Read-a-thon Wrap Up (10/10/10)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

I had a great time participating in the 24 Hour Read-a-thon. I didn’t read for the entire time, but I was able to finish 1 book and get 1/2 through another. Spending a good part of the day on Saturday reading was a great way to get  me out of my reading slump. Between the start of the school year and hurting my back, I haven’t been able to sit and read for quite awhile.

I was able to start reading right at 8:00 yesterday morning, but I did go to bed when I got tired last night. Then, I was able to sneak in a little bit more reading this morning before it officially ended.  Here are my totals:

  • pages read: 508
  • time reading: 7 hours
  • mini challenges: 4
  • books: 1 full book, 1/2 of another

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I got tired around 9PM and went to bed. Once I’m tired I have to give in!
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? In the past, I’ve enjoyed reading graphic novels. I picked up a book from the DCF list this year so the print was a little bigger.  Larger print is good for when your eyes are getting tired.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I think you all do such a great job!
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Wow those cheerleaders were fantastic! I loved the hourly updates on the main site.
5. How many books did you read? 1 full book and 1/2 if another
6. What were the names of the books you read? Shutter Island and Everything for a Dog (only got through 1/2 of this one)
7. Which book did you enjoy most? I enjoyed them both.
8. Which did you enjoy least?
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I can’t wait for the next one!

Did you participate in the read-a-thon? How did you do?

3 Responses

  1. Large print!! That’s an excellent idea. I never even thought of that!

    I hope this really does help you to overcome that slump. Slumps are hard. 😦

  2. Looks like you had a great read-a-thon day 🙂 I was only able to participate for a couple hours, but it’s always nice to have an excuse to do nothing but sit and read for a while 🙂

  3. I finished the second book that I started during the read-a-thon and I’ve now started a new book. It does feel good to be out of my slump. I hope I can keep it up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

