The Hunger Games

hunger games

Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.Pub.

Date: October 2008

Age Range: 12

374pp

Synopsis: (from www.bn.com)

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival.

Challenges:

Nan’s Notes: Thirteen Reasons Why

thirteen reasons why

by Jay Asher

  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Pub. Date: October 2007
  • Age Range: Young Adult
  • 320pp
What an incredible book! This book had me hooked from the very beginning. Thirteen Reasons Why follows Clay Jensen as he listens to a series of cassette tapes, prepared by Hannah Baker that explain why she committed suicide. In the book, Clay travels around his town all night, listening to the tapes, unable to stop playing them. I felt just like Clay. I could not stop reading this book. The first night I picked it up, I stayed up way past my bedtime reading it. A couple of nights this week, I didn’t allow myself to bring the book upstairs because I was afraid I would stay up way too late again! The two voices in the story (Clay’s and Hannah’s) interrupt each other and often share different perspectives of events that happened to both characters. I do have to admit, that sometimes I got the two voices confused and I had to go back and reread a few parts, but that could just be that I was reading too late at night. Even though I finished the book early in the evening last night, I didn’t want to pick up another book. I wanted to savor this one throughout the night.
rating: 5/5