Read-a-thon: Introductory Post

It’s the start of the Read-a-thon! Woo hoo! The timing is perfect for me because I have a dog who had a lump removed yesterday and is still woozy from the sedative. So, a quiet day of reading works out well for us.

1)Where are you reading from today?

I’ll be alternating between my chair and couch in my cozy living room in Vermont. I’m sure my chocolate labs will curl up on my lap throughout the day.

2)Three random facts about meโ€ฆ

  • My favorite colors are green and black.
  • I made a yummy soup yesterday – I will be snacking on it off and on all day today!
  • I’m the team captain of my family’s American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life team.

3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?

I took 2 books out of the library yesterday, but I also have a couple on my NOOK I haven’t gotten to yet and a few other real books on my nightstand waiting to be read. So… I guess the pile keeps getting bigger.
4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
My goals are to enjoy the day reading and for the first time I am also cheerleading.

5)If youโ€™re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

Have fun!

16 Responses

  1. happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Good luck! I have an e-reader too and I love it, but like you, I also have piles of real books too.

  3. Woohoo! Happy Reading Nan!

  4. Give those doggies a pat or two from me! I miss having a lab around. May you exceed your reading goals today.

  5. I hope you have a wonderful day reading and enjoy your soup! I like not having real goals – that’s what I’m going with as well – just reading and enjoying.

  6. Have fun reading! Just chill!!

  7. I think having fun is the most important part of today. Happy readathon!

  8. Having fun is a good tip! ๐Ÿ™‚ And I am! The book I’m reading is beyond amazing, so I’m glad to have the time to read this all at once ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Keep up the good work! You are doing amazingly! (is amazingly a word? it sounds weird)

    That is awesome that you are on a relay team!

  10. I hope your reading day is going well!

  11. Thanks for leaving the comment ๐Ÿ™‚
    I absolutely agree with you, it’s about enjoying it!! I love reading and it shouldn’t be about fast-fast-fast.
    What soup did you make? Love soups ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Thanks for the comment! Enjoy your day of reading!

    Chris

  13. Mmmmm, yummy soup!! I hope you enjoy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And thanks for all the cheering you’ve been doing! YOU ROCK! Hope you can get in some great reading, too.

  14. Soup sounds yum! Care to share? ๐Ÿ™‚ What are you reading?

  15. Happy reading!

  16. Hope the reading is going well!

    Your reading just can’t be stopped
    It’s amazing, your page turning skills
    I came to spread some Readathon cheer
    and fight off the sleepy night chills!

Leave a Reply

