Wet Weekend Leads to a Wet Week

What a weekend I had! I had some fun plans but they were all canceled when I found water seeping into my basement Friday evening. I’ve never had water in my basement, and neither has anyone on my street. But my area has had record rainfall (one area got 5 inches of rain in one day!) which has caused rivers and the lake to flood. The water coming into my house is caused by the water table getting so high.

Thanks to my wonderful friend and her husband, I am able to keep up with the water but it is still coming in. My friend and her husband worked at my house all day Saturday helping me get sump pumps going, removing all my stuff from the basement, sorting it into trash and recycling, and finally bringing it to the dump. I’m so thankful for such wonderful friends!

I’ve had to take some time off from school because I can’t leave the pumps going when I’m away and the water still comes in too quickly. I was able to do half a day today and my mom is on her way up here now. She has volunteered to spend the day here tomorrow so I can go to work for a full day. I’m hoping for things to dry up soon.

I know I’m lucky. Some people have lost homes and have had much worse flooding. The tornadoes in other parts of the country are also so much worse than 2-3 inches of water in my basement. But I’m just so tired of running up and down those stairs and getting up every 30 minutes to check on the pumps. Keep your fingers crossed for dry weather!

Mr. Sun, Sun, Mr. golden Sun, please shine down on me!

4 Responses

  1. Oh no! Here’s sending DRY your way!

  2. Wow, that sounds like a miserable experience Nan! I hope it gets cleared up soon. And yikes about people losing their homes. 😦

  3. I have also experienced flloding in my basement but mine comes all at once and then it’s done. City sewer system. Here’s to hoping the sun comes your way drys everything out. Invest in plastic totes too.
    Have a good weekend Nan 🙂

  4. Thanks for the good thoughts ladies! It was nice having my mom up here for 2 days. When I got home from school today I think that the rate of the water coming in might have slowed. Keep your fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

