Nan’s Notes: Unbroken, by Laura Hillenbrand

Wow! I loved this book. I was so excited when I walked into the library and saw it was there. I really thought I was going to have to put my name on a long waiting list. I brought the book home thinking I would like reading it. I no idea how much I would like this book. Now don’t get me wrong, the subject matter is heavy.  Unbroken shares Louis Zamperini’s horrific experience as a POW and how the human spirit overcomes the most vile and degrading experiences. Many scenes are difficult to read and if it becomes a movie as Seabiscuit did, I do not think I will be able to see it. But, the book is a great book. Laura Hillenbrand’s writing kept me hooked from the beginning and kept me turning page after page, even after I should have gone to bed!

If you enjoy nonfiction, definitely pick up this book. If you don’t normally read  nonfiction, this might be a good one to try. It is well written, compelling, and it won’t be one you will quickly forget.

2 Responses

  1. My book club picked this at our yearly book selection meeting. Not sure what month it will be assigned to yet but I am looking forward to reading it.

  2. I think this would be a good book club selection, since I’m not sure I’d actually pick it up, otherwise. I might well buy it, intending to read it, but I suspect it would sit on my shelf!

    I am glad to know if was well done!

Leave a Reply

