Sunday Salon: 1/16/2011

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

I’m late getting my Sunday Salon up and it will  be a short one tonight. This weekend was so much fun! My family came up to celebrate my 40th birthday. I wasn’t expecting my sister to come. But… she surprised me and came up! What a wonderful surprise! Tonight I’m tired and ready to go to bed early after a weekend of eating, shopping, and spending time with family. Soon, I think I’ll go up to bed and read a bit more of  my current book, Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand, a great book that I highly recommend. I hope to write a review after I finish it later this week.

I get my wisdom teeth out at the end of the week. I think I’d like to have some graphic novels or other quick reads to choose from as I rest up after the surgery. Any recommendations?

Have a great week!

10 Responses

  1. Eek, I’m so sorry to hear about your teeth? Are they just being pulled or is it full surgery? I hope it’s the former. :/ Good luck to you!!!!!

  2. Oh! and happy birthday!!

  3. My dentists have been dying to take my wisdom teeth out for 20 years. All four of them only came through partway and then stopped. 2 were taken out 8 years ago.Now, I have a cavity under the gum in one of the wisdom teeth that are left. So it’s a full surgery, knocking me out and everything. I really hate it! I have to admit, the last surgery them went very easy. I’m just a terrible patient.

  4. Happy Birthday! Glad you had a wonderful time.
    Sucks about the wisdom teeth. Hope you are having some IV sedation. I did becuase I am a big baby, and it wasn’t so bad. Good luck and speedy recovery 🙂

  5. Have you read Blankets? I think everyone should! Good luck with the teeth removal. I (luckily) only had two removed.

  6. Jennygirl – Oh I will be knocked out! My dentist tried to describe what would be happening during the surgery and I just had to block it all out. I just want to get knocked out and get it over with.

    Christina – I have read Blankets. I loved it!

  7. Don’t fret too much about the surgery, the key is to REST even when you feel you don’t need it.

    I highly recommend Safe from the Sea, which I just reviewed on the blog. It was a quick read, easy on the eyes but beautifully written and very thoughtful. A great book to curl up with.

    Good luck with the procedure!

  8. good luck with the wisdom teeth. when i had mine out i was so hopped up on pain meds I don’t think I could have read if I tried. Opening my eyes was enough! 🙂 Good luck!

  9. I’m reading Unbroken right now too!I hope your wisdom teeth surgery goes (or has gone) well!

  10. Update on getting a graphic novel: my library was closed due to construction so I wasnt’ able to get anything. 😦

    Ti – Thanks for advice! I have slept most of the weekend.

    Marie – I wasn’t able to read at all on Friday. I have slept most of the weekend, but I did sneak in some reading yesterday and today.

    Alyce -I hope you are loving Unbroken as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

