Nan’s Notes: Little Bee, by Chris Cleave

I’ve had this book on my TBR list for quite a while, not really knowing what it was about. It tells the story of  two lives that connect and impact each other. There are two voices telling the story Little Bee (a refugee from Nigeria) and Sarah (a wife, mother, and editor).

I loved the first half of the book and was completely absorbed in the story. I work in a school where many of my students are refugees from many countries. I tend to connect deeply with books about refugees because of my personal experience. Both women’s voices were strong and kept the story moving. The story was completely engaging and I loved the writing. I was also thinking that this could be a really good audio book to listen to (and I’m not very good at audio books!).

I had a little more trouble in the second half of the story. It was harder for me to become completely absorbed and to lose myself in the story. Part of the reason, I think, is that I had a lot of things going on in my life (lost my wallet, going to a conference, etc.).  I found myself having to reread pages because I had no idea what had happened. There also was one section of the book where I thought Little Bee was narrating and it turned out it was Sarah! I had to go back and reread that section to see it from the correct perspective.

I’m glad I read this book. The first half of the book is going to stick with me for a while, but I think I will have trouble remembering the second half. Have you read this book? Did you have trouble with the second half of the book or was it just me? I wish I  didn’t have so much going on as I was reading the end.

2 Responses

  1. I read this book on the plane back from BEA last May. Since I was stuck with hours of time on my hand, I finished it right about when I finally landed at home. I think I would have gotten distracted otherwise, especially in the second half, which like you I didn’t find as compelling. It was an interesting story, but more forgettable than I’d have liked.

  2. It makes me feel better that you found the second half less compelling also. I’m glad it wasn’t just me!

Leave a Reply

