Sunday Salon – A recap of summer reading (9/5/10)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

I had a great summer of reading! I did a terrible job keeping up with my blog this summer, so I thought I would take this Sunday to do a wrap up.  Summer for me starts when I’m on summer vacation. School is out, and I’m on my own schedule. My summer schedule usually involves getting up early, and curling up with my current read. I also spend a lot of time out on the deck reading or at the beach. I did not read the number of  books I was hoping to cover this summer, but I really enjoyed all the books I completed. This summer I read 11 books. A Dog’s Purpose is one of my favorite books of the year! If you are a dog person, you’ve got to read this book. I also really enjoyed The Passage but I didn’t get a chance to post a review about it. I can’t wait for the next one in the series to come out.

  1. Oryx and Crake, by Margaret Atwood, 389 pages, June 18, 2010
  2. Refresh, Refresh, by James Ponsoldt, Benjamin Percy, Danica Novgorodoff, 144 pages, June 18, 2010
  3. Refugees, by Catherine Stine, 277 pages, June 27, 2010
  4. The Lost City of Z, by David Grann, 282 pages, July 3, 2010
  5. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, by Stieg Larsson, 590 pages, July 9, 2010
  6. Eclipse, by Stephenie Meyer, 629 pages, July 16
  7. A Dog’s Purpose, by W. Bruce Cameron, 319 pages July 26
  8. The Girl Who Played with Fire, by Stieg Larsson, 630 pages, August 13
  9. The Morning Meeting Book, by Roxann Kriete, 218 pages, August 15
  10. Quick Tips: Morning Message K-2, by Anne Adams, Diane Farnham, Carol McQuillen, and Donna Peabody,80 pages,  August 15, 2010
  11. The Passage, by Justin Cronin, 766 pages, August 29, 2010

Even though I’m behind in the amount of books read, I did manage to complete one reading challenge this summer: The Chunkster Challenge. Will I complete any others? Your guess is as good as mine!

I read a picture book that was new to me this week with my first graders. It is I Wish I Were a Butterfly by James Howe and Ed Young. What a wonderful story! I borrowed it from a coworker this year, but I will be buying my own copy for next year.

I hope to be back visiting people’s blogs and commenting this week. I hope you enjoyed your summer as much as I did!

6 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you posted a wrap up! I love seeing what you’ve read, even if you didn’t have time to blog about each book. 🙂

  2. Sometimes we don’t have to review every book we read; a nice overview can be lovely, too.

    It sounds like you had a sweet summer.

    My Sunday Salon is here:
    http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by A Dog's Purpose, SundaySalon. SundaySalon said: [NAN'S CORNER] Sunday Salon – A recap of summer reading (9/5/10) (9-5-2010) http://bit.ly/bFyIBD […]

  4. You had a great summer in books Nan. I want to begin the Stieg Larsson series soon.

    Have a great week.

  5. You did do well! The summer came and went for me. I read a lot of great books but I probably will never get to a wrap-up post since I am still trying to catch-up from what I had originally planned to read.

    Someone posted a fall reading list and it made me want to do it too, but the pressure… lol.

  6. I’m impressed that you’ve completed the chunkster challenge. It’s just one of many that I’m probably not going to finish this year. I think I’ll have to be more realistic about how many I join next year.

Leave a Reply

