Nan’s Notes: A Dog’s Purpose

by W. Bruce Cameron

  • 319 pages
  • Published: July 2010
  • bought book

I picked up this book after reading about it on a couple of blogs. The summaries sounded like a book that I would love. A Dog’s Purpose follows a dog through many lives as he (sometimes she) learns his purpose in life.

My only hesitation in picking up the book was knowing that there would be really sad parts when the dog would die. I ended up buying it and decided not bring it to the beach to read, but instead read it in the privacy of my own home. There were some parts where I was bawling my eyes out. But there were other parts where I was also crying from laughing so hard! I had marked some of these funny parts in my book to share on this blog, but now I don’t think I’m going to. I don’t want to ruin those parts… you’llย  have to read them for yourself. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you have dogs, you will really appreciate these parts!

The only thing that bothered me a few times, sort of pulled me out of the story, was when the narrator (the dog) would describe something that he was seeing because he didn’t know what it was called, but a few pages later, he would use the correct word for it. Those little inconsistencies would give me a little jolt, but I quickly got back into the story.

Dog people will love this book, but if you are not a dog person, I don’t thing it is the book for you. If you read and enjoyed The Art of Racing in the Rain, pick up this book. Have tissues handy.

Now, I’m going to go play with my dogs.

9 Responses

  1. Sounds like a book I would love!

  2. Jeane – It really was so good! I keep thinking about it even a few days later.

  3. I’ll have to read this one when I’m alone too, because I could see how it would be a tearjerker.

  4. this one does sound good. great review! I have The Art of Racing in the Rain in my TBR.

  5. In my head, I am a dog person, but in reality, I am a cat person. I ike the idea of having a dog but my one experience with getting a dog was such a nightmare that I learned (the hard way) just how different dogs and cat are.

    I see a dog in my future but I don’t think I know enough about dogs to choose the right one. For this reason I hesitate. I love books like this one though because it proves to me that the relationship that owners have with their dogs is really quite special. Not better than one with cats per se, but definitely different.

  6. I’m more of a cat person, but I still enjoy many books about dogs as I LOVE all animals really.

    I loved Art of Racing in the Rain.

  7. I’m adding this to my wish list because I loved The Art of Racing in the Rain. Great review!

  8. I love my dogs so this one catches my eye – thanks for the review ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. I love puppies! and although it will make me sad in spots I can’t resist. Time for me to go give my Lucky dog some sugar ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

