Nan’s Notes: A hit and a miss

I have been very busy reading this summer. So busy reading that  I haven’t written up any reviews! I wanted to quickly mention a really great book that I read and one I had to put down.

The  great one: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I first tried this book back during the winter and I just couldn’t get into it. I returned it to the library with just a few pages read. Skip to this summer. My aunt read it and told me to give it another try. To humor her, I bought a copy of the book and told her I would try it. I also read this article in my Entertainment Weekly magazine, which got me curious about the book.  During the hottest part of the heat wave, I picked up the book, hoping it would distract me from the heat. I’m so glad I did!  I could not put it down and was completely hooked on the story and characters. This was a good reminder to me of how sometimes you have to be in the right mood for a certain book. I guess this July I was in the perfect mood!I brought this book everywhere with me: to the lake, on errands, in between tutoring appointments. I just couldn’t put it down. Now I’m thinking I should try another book that I had trouble with in the past (Shadow of the Wind). Everyone says I will love it but I just couldn’t get into it. Have you ever put down a book because you weren’t into it, and ended up loving it when you gave it another try?

So what book was a miss for me? Well, it’s a book I should have known I wouldn’t have liked it. It’s The Host, by Stephenie Meyer. I’m not a fan of the Twilight series, although I do keep reading it – I like  to talk about the story with my sister and friends. But… I thought maybe, just maybe,  I would like her novel The Host. Let’s just say it wasn’t my cup of tea. To me, it was the story of Twilight with aliens instead of vampires. I read a bit of the book and had to put it down.

I’ve read a couple of other really good books so far this summer… I hope to have more in depths reviews of some of those coming soon.

8 Responses

  1. First, I have to say I don’t think I could stomach the Larson books. Way too violent for me! On the other hand, I have had some experiences with temporarily giving up on a book that I loved when I finally came back to it. It was like that last year with East of Eden for me. I tried to read it in June and it was agonizing. I set it aside for a few months, came back to it, and ate it up. It was wonderful. It really goes to show how a mood can affect you! As for The Host, well, people keep telling me I should try it, but “Twilight with aliens” is exactly what I worry about…

  2. You are so right about having to be in the right mood for certain books! I’m glad The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo worked out for you this time.

  3. You should try Shadow of the Wind again. I loved it, but had some issues with it in the beginning. I think I would have given up on it had it not been that I was reading it for book club. It is a slow-moving book at first, with a lot of details, but once I got to a certain point I was sucked into the story and couldn’t put it down (I was reading it for hours on end so I could find out what happened).

  4. I know just what you mean about sometimes needing to be in the mood for a book. I went through 4 audiobooks one day, not settling on any of them. I returned to one a few days later and loved it.

    I think I might just have fallen out of the mood for the book I’ve been listening to. I think it’s a bigger issue for me with audiobooks, although it does happen with print as well.

    I’m glad you returned to this one– I enjoyed the series.

  5. I did the same thing you did with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo! I took the paperback with me last summer on vacation, read a handful of pages, and put it down. For some reason, it didn’t grab me back then. But this time around, I read it and it was fantastic! I went right to books 2 and 3 afterward 🙂

  6. I am about to read this one for book club and I am so excited but now Amanda’s comment has me worried – I didn’t know they were violent…

  7. bookjourney -They are quite violent. I’ve now finished the second one in the series and I loved that one too. The stories are great! They pull you right in and you are finished with the book before you know it! But, they are violent.

  8. I’ll be reading this for Dewey’s 24-hour Readathon tomorrow! Really can’t wait … one book that I disliked and couldn’t get into initially was “If on a winter’s night a traveler” by Italo Calvino. I was like, “what? what the…? why is everyone raving about this? it’s just a bunch of beginnings of stories and they don’t go anywhere…” so I put it down. MONTHS later I decided to try it again, and although I STILL didn’t like the fact that just as I got “into” a story, it changed to something else .. it was interesting and different .. and I began to appreciate some of the reviews (although it wasn’t a “rave” book in my mind, unless you count the author’s imagination in coming up with this concept)

Leave a Reply

