Sunday Salon: Summer School (July 4, 2010)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

For the last two weeks, I’ve been teaching summer school. It’s been a wonderful experience for the students and the teachers. Teachers were able to sign up to teach summer school for the mornings and then in the afternoon, we had professional development around literacy, math, and teaching English Language Learners. I was also able to learn a new reading intervention program that my school will be using.

The first week was literacy and the kids loved it! One of the organizers of the session used a grant so every child was allowed to pick 3 books at the end of each day. We would put these three books in a labeled bag. At the end of the week, the kids were able to bring home 15 books to keep! There were tons of titles for the kids to choose from, both picture books and chapter books.  My group brought the kids down at the end of the morning. All morning long, the children chatted excitedly about which titles they would choose. On Friday, the kids had to use both arms to carry their bags that were heavy with books. It was so much fun to see the joy that these books brought to every child. Many of the kids in my school don’t have a lot of books at home so getting these books was a huge deal.

The second week was math and it was also a hit. We learned a ton of math games which we would play every day. The games required the kids to develop fluency and automaticity of their math facts. We had so much,  that they kids didn’t want to stop for snack! This was after working for over and hour!

You would not believe how excited these kids were for summer school. Summer school started at 8:30. I would get to school at 7:30 and there were kids already there, waiting for the day to begin. At the end of the two weeks, we had some kids in tears because they did not want summer school to end. We are definitely doing something right when kids are begging for summer school!

Now that I’m on complete vacation, my Relay for Life is done and summer school is done, I have enjoyed reading  as much as I can. The weather has been perfect for sitting out on the deck and getting lost in a good book. Unfortunately, yesterday I got so lost in my book that I didn’t realize that I was getting sunburned! Today I made sure to on more sunscreen.

I hope everyone enjoyed a wonderful Fourth of July!

3 Responses

  1. Boo to sunburn, but yay to everything else! That’s really exciting that your kids are so happy about summer school, Nan! 🙂

  2. This sounds like a phenomenal program! I read several years ago about a government program – I can’t even remember what country it was in, sadly – that gave parents of young children a box of books, to guarantee that every citizen grew up with access to reading material at an early age. This seems to me to be tax money very well spent.

  3. Vacation – oooh enjoy! Bummer about the sun burn!

Leave a Reply

