Sunday Salon: June 20, 2010

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

It feels so good to be reading again! I had been reading quite a bit until March hit, and then I hit a bit of a dry patch. One thing I realize now is that I really needed new glasses! I got my new glasses last week and I’m already on my third book. It’s so nice to not be seeing double! I hadn’t realized how hard I was making my eyes work. Plus, I now have sunglasses again (I lost my old pair of prescription sunglasses) which means I can sit on the deck and read… my favorite activity of the summer!

Even though I have not read many books so far this year, I have completed one challenge: Graphic Novel Challenge 2010 . My goal was only 3-10 books and I’ve now read 3 books. I’m sure I will read more throughout the year. I do love graphic novels!

My numbers for the  100 Mile Fitness Challenge are also on the low side with only 52 miles. Luckily, next weekend is my American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. I hope to get a bunch of miles in there. I don’t know if I will hit the 100 mark for this round but I’m going to get as close as I can.

I love being part of the American Cancer Society’s Relay for Life. My family has lost too many people to cancer. Last year was a tough year because we had just lost my Aunt Peggy. But, the relay is a wonderful place of healing. Yes, it was tough, but you are surrounded with people who have been there. Everyone there understands. Keep your fingers crossed for nice weather and a good turnout for next weekend.

It feels so good to be back reading and being able to make the time to visit blogs again. I hope you all have a good week. Happy reading!

9 Responses

  1. I’m glad you got new glasses too!! Now you can enjoy the magic of books again.

  2. I’m so glad you’re back, Nan! Good luck with the Relay for Life. Summer is always the worse time for me to participate in things like that because it’s so hot here. I’m wishing you very good weather!

  3. I enjoy reading outside as well. In fact, I just came from my deck. Taking a little reading break before I head outside again. Reading outside always makes me nostalgic. I would spend my summer vacation reading outside on my front porch when I was in jr. high. Enjoy your Sunday afternoon!

  4. Glad to hear that you have new glasses. I need some myself but I’m holding out since it’s not really affecting my vision. I can feel your happiness in your words. Enjoy your books. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for good weather and a great turnout next week.

  5. I hope you have nice weather for the walk! I would love to participate in the fitness challenge, but I just haven’t been that organized (plus I spend most of my time on a fitness bike instead of walking).

    Yay for good glasses! They make all the difference in the world.

  6. Seeing makes all the difference doesn’t it? I love to read outside as well. So relaxing.

  7. I really need new glasses! This was a great reminder- it must be so nice.

  8. My daughter and I just did the Walk in the Park event last weekend at our local SixFlags. It wasn’t any kind of fitness challenge, but our local park did raise 35,000 for Los Angeles Childrens Hosp.

    We sure had a good time, hope you have a blast in the Relay for Life!

    We walked in honor of our beautiful next door neighbor, who passed away from leukemia just a couple of weeks ago. Although the walk was for pediatric cancer, our Pat was a kid at heart, so we decided it worked.

  9. I imagine that being able to see clearly would make a HUGE difference in your reading enjoyment!! Glad you got the new glasses … and kudos to you for doing the walk!

Leave a Reply

