Sunday Salon: DCF List for 2010-2011 (May 23, 2010)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

This school year, I tried to read as many of the DCF nominated books as I could. What is the DCF Award?

First given in 1957, the Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children’s Book Award has honored quality literature for children for 50 years now.  Each spring, a committee of eight carefully selects 30 books to comprise the DCF Master List. After reading at least 5 books from the list, students then vote for their favorite titles the following spring.  The winning author is invited to visit Vermont to speak with children about the experience of writing such fine literature for such fine people. – from DCF

I read 11 out of the 30 nominated books this past year. The winner was The Hunger Games. I’m going to challenge myself to read as many of the books as I can again this year. I’m not familiar with many of the books on the 2010-2011 reading list. The only one I’ve read so far is Grace Lin’s book Where the Mountain Meets the Moon. Have you read any books from the current list?

Also, I wanted to thank you for the recommendations the last time I posted. I just realized I never responded to any of your comments! Sorry! I’ll respond here instead. 🙂

Amanda – I did read Liar already… what an interesting book! I don’t think I wrote a review of it because I just didn’t know how to do it without spoiling anything. And you are right… it hooks you right away and keeps you hooked throughout the entire book.

Debnance – I haven’t read The Good Earth, so I will have to check that one out.

Ti – The Queen of Palmyra sounds really good! Thanks for the recommendation!

Since I last posted, I did finish Life as We Knew it. I loved the concept, but I didn’t buy into the diary format. I hope to get a review up, but with being so busy as the school year comes to an end in mid June, it might not happen until after that. I am now starting The Day of the Pelican, by Katherine Paterson. I was in a curriculum meeting and a colleague let me borrow her copy. It looks really good!

And… some good news on the reading front for myself… I finally ordered my new glasses! In April, I misplaced my prescription sunglasses, which means I have not been able to read on the deck (my favorite thing to do in the spring and summer). So yesterday I ordered a new pair of prescription sunglasses and I ordered my new regular glasses with my new prescription. This means I won’t be seeing double anymore when my eyes are tired at night! Hooray!

I hope everyone has a wonderful week!

Leave a Reply

