Sunday Salon: Reading Rut (March 21, 2010)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

I’m in such a reading rut. The time change really threw me off. I was having so much trouble falling asleep at night which caused me to be tired during the day. After a full day of work, I had no energy to read. The unseasonably warm weather last week  also got me outside for some great walks, but again cut into my reading routine.

The last couple of nights I felt like my body was finally getting used to the time change. The snow falling outside today doesn’t make me want to go for a walk so hopefully I will find myself curled up with my book soon. Do you have trouble adjusting to the time change?

I did have a great turnout at my volunteering at the library yesterday. Once a month, Sara (my chocolate lab) and I visit the library to hear kids read. Sara listened to kids nonstop for an hour. It was great to see kids so excited to read!

Have a good week everyone! I hope to have a couple of posts up this week. I have 2 reviews sitting in draft form that need to be finish.

8 Responses

  1. I feel the same way about the other time change. It really throws me off and takes me weeks to get used to. I start wanting to go to bed around 5:30 in the evening. This time change finally gets me back to normal. The only way I dealt with the last time change (review-wise) was having the readathon right before it so I had a bunch of pre-drafted reviews waiting for me…

  2. I read (somewhere) that the best way to get used to the time change is to gradually (fifteen minutes each day) get up and go to bed earlier.

    It worked with me.

  3. I never thought about it but the time change does effect my reading habits. Like you, I tend to be soooo tired throughout the day because my body just cannot adjust.

    Glad that you had fun volunteering!

  4. My internal clock is all messed up! I was better mid-week but then had to have some medical testing that required me to be sedated. Well, it really screwed me up and I have been owl-like all night long which makes me zombie-like all day long.

    All I can handle right now as far as reading is young adult stuff. I just seem too distracted to handle anything heavier.

  5. I haven’t had so much trouble with the time change as I have just being tired in general. I went out to be in the sun a couple of days ago and even the sun made me drowsy. 🙂

  6. I’ve been taking naps since the time change last week. I still feel exhausted.

    Have a great week –glad sara gets to visit the library 🙂

  7. Sometimes, I have trouble adjusting to the time change. I guess it depends on what is going on in my life. I can relate to being in a reading rut. Sometimes, I just need to take a break so that my enthusiasm and love of reading renews itself. Here is my Sunday Salon post:
    http://beastmomma.squarespace.com/from-shelf-to-hand/2010/3/20/the-sunday-salon-54-cut-for-stone-and-their-eyes-were-watchi.html

  8. The time change threw me off for sure. But I’m still able to read. I’d be OK if not for my Little One. Since his time is off, mine is off too. Hope you find your reading groove soon.

Leave a Reply

