Sunday Salon: Vacation and Awards

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

Vacation Week:

Oh how I love February vacation! I’ve been on vacation the past week and I’ve enjoyed every minute of it. At the beginning of vacation, my sister and I took her boys skiing for the first time ever – it was our first time too! I took 2 skiing lessons and had a great time. I was TERRIBLE at it (I am very nonathletic) but I had so much fun. My sister caught on very quickly and my 2 nephews did great on snowboarding!

I also had lots of time to catch up on some reading of blogs and books. So far I’ve finished 3 books during vacation and I’m very quickly reading a fourth.

Big, Huge Thank You’s:

I’m really bad at awards. I’ve been given an award from 2 bloggers and I’m behind in sending out my thanks.

The award is the  Beautiful Blogger Award from Dogear Diary and Socrates’ Book Reviews.

The rules of the Beautiful Blogger award are to pass it on to other beautiful bloggers and tell seven things about yourself.

1. I have 2 chocolate labs (that is Sara in my header. Tessa has competed in agility and Sara competes in Rally. Sara is also a Therapy Dog. They both think they are lap dogs.

2.I love fun socks! I have socks with crazy stripes, chocolate labs, penguins, etc. I even have a special pair that I wear when I’m sick.

3. I love the television show Lost. I can’t wait to see how it ends, but I also don’t want to see it end.

4. I love popcorn! My favorite popcorn is from Yoderpopcorn.com. Yes, I special order my popcorn.

5. I eat a lot. No, I really do. I’m a very small person, but I can out eat most people. When I had 2 of my wisdom teeth removed, the worst part for me was the fact that I couldn’t get enough food into my body while it was initially healing.

6. I love musicals! Some of my favorites: Avenue Q, Chicago, Hairspray, Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat, The Lion King.

7. I hate shopping for clothes. Once I find something I like, I buy it in a couple of colors so I don’t have to shop anymore.

I am so grateful for all the bloggers who stop by and comment, even though I’m not the most consistent blogger. Thanks so much for reading and commenting! Blogs I’m passing the award to:

I’m ready to go curl up with my book for a bit. Enjoy the rest of the weekend and have a great week!

13 Responses

  1. I’m glad you had a nice vacation….It always feels good to complete three books in one week!

  2. Thank you for the award, Nan!

    I love that picture – are you going to give us any pictures of you trying to ski?? I don’t think I’d be able to ski at all! Oh, and my husband loves toe socks. He’s got two pairs, one that’s all Christmas-y and one that has crazy stripes on it. 😀

  3. I’m not good at skiing either (I’ve only been once), but I agree that it’s a lot of fun.

    Congrats on your award, and thanks for passing it on to me!

  4. debnance – It does feel good!

    Amanda – My sister might have gotten some pictures of me. If she did, I’ll post one. That picture was from the second day of skiing/snowboarding. My body was too sore to ski so I was on picture duty.

    Alyce – You’re welcome!

  5. Thanks for thinking of my blog.

    And I’m with you on the shopping thing! If I find something I like, I buy it in four different colors and just wear rotate them! Sad, I know!

  6. Congratulations on your award! Your week sounds great. I hope this week is just as great for you.

  7. Thank you for passing this award on to me. You and I have a lot in common. I love musicals. My son was in 8 productions (various ones including Joseph) and I worked backstage for all of them.

    I also hate to go shopping for clothes. I am a big L.L. Bean/ Lands End freak so I find a shirt I like and buy it in 3 different colors…same for pants. I am sort of preppy and boring but so be it.

  8. Jenners – You’re welcome! I’m so glad I’m not the only one who buys clothes like that.

    Vasilly – I’m hoping for another good week too. 🙂

    Ti – You’re very welcome for the award. That is awesome that your son was in Joseph! My main goal for clothing is to be comfy. 🙂

  9. I like fun socks, too. I used to have a lot of argyle socks, but I wore them all out!

  10. sounds like you had a great vacation 🙂 and congrats on your award!

  11. Jeane – This year I am having to throw out some of my Smart Wool socks because I’ve worn the heels out. I love those socks!

    Bookworm – Thanks!

  12. Oh, yes- SmartWool are my other favorite socks. I just bought several new pairs, and my husband stole some and stretched them to fit his feet! Now I have to get me some more, arrgh.

  13. Jeane – I always love finding another SmartWool fan!

Leave a Reply

