Nan’s Notes: The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger

  • by J.D. Salinger
  • 214 pages
  • my own copy of the book

I read this book as part of The Catcher in the Rye Read Along.

I read this book years ago in middle school or high school. I didn’t remember a thing about this book from that reading. The book is told from the point of view of Holden Caulfield in a stream of consciousness format.  Holden has been expelled from school and does not want to deal with having his parents find out before they need to. So, he spends a few days wandering around New York City, drinking, calling old friends, meeting women, all the while feeling lonely and depressed.

When I first picked up the book for this reading, I got through a good portion of the book in one sitting. Then, what I found, was that it was really hard to pick it back up. I had smaller bit of time where I could read a few pages here and there, but that was very hard to do with this book. The style of writing, takes me awhile to get into the groove of the story. Today, with the snow pouring down, I had a good block of time again where I could sit and read. Once I had this uninterrupted time, I was able to finish the book.

An interesting tidbit I found in Wikipedia is:

In 1981, it was both the most censored book and the second most taught book in public schools in the United States.

I think that is fascinating that it was both the most censored and one of the most taught books at the same time!

You can find links to other people’s thoughts in the Catcher in the Rye Readalong over at Book Nut.

Challenges:

2010 100+ Reading Challenge

4 Responses

  1. Did you end up liking it once you finished?

  2. Hmm, you know Amanda that is a tough question. I didn’t like how hard I had to work to get pulled into the story. I love stories that I can fall right into and lose myself in. Holden also drove me crazy. I wanted to shake him and say, “You’re life is not that bad. Make some better choices!” I know I didn’t love it (in the beginning, when I was on a roll with it, I thought I was going to love it) but I also don’t think I hated it. Although, since I’m having so much trouble answering this question, it makes me think I didn’t like it all that much. This answer seems so wishy washy! I feel this is a book I read and can check off a list to say it’s done. That’s about it.

  3. I read this one in high school, but barely remember it. I think its one of those books that resonates more with high schoolers who can relate to Holden though. I do need to re-read it also.

  4. Bookworm – That is a good point about high schoolers relating better to the character.

Leave a Reply

