TSS: Strega Nona (January 17, 2010)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

Last Sunday Salon, I talked about the death of a Vermont artist and children’s book author. I’m so glad to have something more upbeat to chat about today!

Last weekend, I took my cousin and her 2 1/2 year old daughter to see the musical version of Tomie dePaola‘s Strega Nona. My family LOVES the Strega Nona books. The reading of Merry Christmas Strega Nona was a traditional part of our Italian Christmas Eve celebration for many years.

The play was so much fun! My cousin’s daughter had a blast! She spent most of the show with her eyes wide open and just in awe of the production. A couple of times she laughed right out loud. She is still talking about the play.

The day after going with my family, I took my first grade class to see the show We also had a great time. The theater was full with almost 1500 school kids and their teachers. I loved hearing the kids laugh and cheer throughout the play. My class couldn’t wait for the part when the pasta from the magic pasta pot covered the town.

I feel so lucky that I am able to have a wonderful theater close to where I live and work that puts on such great performances.

Here’s a clip from the show:

Have you seen a performance of a favorite children’s book? Some I have been to see are Junie B. Jones, and  Swimmy with other books by Leo Lionni

6 Responses

  1. We read Strega Nona with the boys a few months ago! They really enjoyed it.

    So you say it was “a traditional part of our Italian Christmas Eve celebration” – by that, do you mean you come from an Italian heritage?

  2. I do come from an Italian heritage. My mom’s side of the family is 100% Italian. We do the Feast of the 7 Fishes on Christmas Eve (some of the foods are mentioned in Merry Christmas Strega Nona).

  3. What part of Italy do they hail from? I have only been to Venice but would love to visit more of Italy. It’s one of my favorite countries and I studied the language for a few semesters in college, but we didn’t have very good teachers and the program was pretty small, so I ended up concentrating most my time in French.

  4. Thanks for visiting today!!

  5. Sounds like fun! Your lucky to have a great theater near you. We don’t have much in this town except for the high school which puts on plays and musicals sometimes.

  6. How fun: a Strega Nona musical. My girls would LOVE that.

Leave a Reply

