Nan’s Notes: Skim, by Mariko Tamaki

Skim tells the story of Kimberly Keiko Cameron (aka Skim). Skim feels like she doesn’t fit in at her school, common feelings for many kids in high school. A boyfriend of a classmate commits suicide which then prompts some  students to start a club called Girls Celebrate Life. Unfortunately, instead of  helping others,this group actually makes the kids who already feel like outsiders become more isolated.

There are a lot of issues that are within this book: suicide, sexual orientation, fitting in, and starting to finding yourself. Once I started reading this book I couldn’t put it down. I think I read it in one or two sittings. I loved learning about Skim as she learned about herself. I also really liked how the author and illustrator used the pages. Sometimes there were many small panels and other times there was just one illustration on the page. This really gave me an opportunity to slow down and reflect a bit on the story.

I haven’t read anything else by this author, but I think I will be checking some more out.

Challenges:

I borrowed this copy from my local library.

2 Responses

  1. I agree, this one was really good!

  2. This looks fantastic – I have seen this book before.

    Happy New year!

Leave a Reply

