Sunday Salon: My most memorable reads of 2009 (December 27, 2009)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

At first, this post was going to be called my favorite reads of 2009 but then I decided I really wanted to list the books that stuck with me the most throughout the year. Sometimes, these books might not be rated as high as other books, but then, as time passes, I realize how much the book touched me. So here they are (in no particular order):

  1. Wesley the Owl: The Remarkable Love Story of an Owl and His Girl, by Stacey O’Brien, 229 pages
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale, by Margaret Atwood, 311 pages, March 9
  3. Thirteen Reasons Why, by Jay Asher, 288 pages, June 11
  4. The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins, 374 pages, June 14
  5. Uglies, by Scott Westerfeld, 425 pages, June 19
  6. The Blue Notebook, by James A. Levine, 210 pages
  7. Knucklehead: Tall Tales & Mostly True Stories About Growing Up Scieszka, by Jon Scieszka, 106 pages, August 14
  8. American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang, 233 pages, October 2

This is a short post today because I’m spending some time with my family. Next week I will be posting about 2 giveaways that I won! The dogs had so much fun with one of them. 🙂

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

8 Responses

  1. You know, when I first read The Handmaid’s Tale in the summer of 2008, I didn’t like it much, but it has really stayed with me. I love how books can grow (or diminish) in impact over time.

  2. Yay for The Handmaid’s Tale. That was a particularly disturbing and memorable read for me. I’ve heard about American Born Chinese before, so maybe that’s one I should add to my TBR list. Happy Sunday!

  3. Loved Hunger Games and Handmaid’s Tale. Hope next year is just as good!

  4. I’ve read some of those and some are on my TBR for next year. One of my favorites this year was The Help. I still need to put together my full list though.

  5. Amanda – I am just as surprised by the books that end up diminishing over time. Good point.

    Trisha – Give it a try. After reading it, I really felt the need to talk about it with others.

    Debnance – I’m hoping for some great books in 2010 too! I’m trying to figure out which book to start on January 1.

    Alyce – I have got to read The Help. I’ve heard a lot of great things about it.

  6. I LOVED the Blue Notebook too (painful subject/great book).

  7. I’m reading The Handmaid’s Tale now and enjoying it. It’s my first Margaret Atwood read beyond her short story Hairball.

  8. I know what you mean. My list of books consists of the books I enjoyed the most – they may not have been the best written, but they gave me the most pleasure. I’ve read two on your list, but have 3 more of them in my TBR pile.

Leave a Reply

