Sunday Salon: Holiday Gifts (December 13, 2009)

You can see other posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

I love, love, love giving books as gifts. Maybe it’s because I love getting books as gifts. Maybe it’s because I want the person who’s receiving the book to enjoy the book as much as I did. Maybe it’s because I feel a book is something the reader will enjoy for awhile (during reading and savor after reading). Anyway you look at it… I love giving books.

I don’t think any of the people who are getting gifts from me read my blog so I can share with readers of this blog the books I’ve bought so far. Maybe you can even give more suggestions!

This year, I had one person on my list who did not receive The Art of Racing in the Rain by Garth Stein last year. This was my favorite book of 2008 and I gave it to just about everyone last year. I’m so glad I still get to give this book to someone this year.

Other books I’m giving are The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collines and 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher. Now I do have an odd book pick that I’m giving to 3 different people. It’s Big Pumpkin (with the CD) by Erica Silverman. Yep, it’s a Halloween story but it’s so good… my class and I listen and sing along to the CD all year long. I’m giving this to 2 of my co-workers and to one of my young cousins.

A book I’m thinking of giving is Homer’s Odyssey: a Fearless Feline Tale or How I Learned About Love and Life with a Blind Wonder Cat, by  Gwen Cooper. I haven’t read this one, but I’ve read reviews that people who loved Dewey will love this book. Has anyone read it? What do you think? I have a few family members who are big readers and love cats.

I’m hoping to go to Barnes and Noble today and spend some time going through the books for kids around 4th grade. I want to get a good book for my nephew, but I’m not quite sure what to get. He loved Knucklehead by Jon Scieszka and he loves the Bone books by Jeff Smith.  I know I will get both of my nephews a gift certificate for the bookstore, but I also want to get them each a good book so we can all curl up and read together.

What books are you giving this year? Are you giving the same book to multiple people or different books?

3 Responses

  1. Me, too. I love to give books as gifts. I have a stack to wrap for my husband and daughters. I still need to find one for my son. He’s not a big reader but he may just enjoy a sports-theme book. That’s my goal for this week, find son a book : )

  2. I wish I could give books as gifts, but no one in my family are big readers. My mom only reads self-help books and rarely at that. My brother and one of my sisters read sometimes but they’re picky and they don’t like to own books – they like libraries instead. My youngest sister couldn’t read properly until 4th grade (she had severe dyslexia that no one caught) and consequently still hates reading to this day. :/

  3. I never give books, just gift cards. I’m always afraid that the person might have preferred some book other than that which I selected…LOL

    The titles you picked out sound great though!

Leave a Reply

