Sunday Salon: Audio Book 11/29/09

You can see other posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

This month I listened to my first audio book! Well, I’ve tried listening to a few other audio books, but never was able to finish them. This time I listened to the entire 8 hours and loved every minute of it! The book I listened to? Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, read by Jim Dale.

I’ve wanted to be able to listen to audio books for so long. I know I am not an auditory learner, I’m extremely visual. But, I do love listening to podcasts. I’ve been listening to podcasts for 2 or 3 years now so I thought I would be able to try some audio books, but I kept zoning out every time I would start listening. I had no idea what was happening in the story.

I had heard that the Harry Potter books were great audio books. I decided to give it a try and I loved it! One difference with the Harry Potter audio is that I’ve read this book before. So, if I zoned out, I still had an idea of what was happening. But I don’t think I zoned out very much.  My plan is to listen to the next 2 or 3 books of Harry Potter and then read the rest of them (for the Harry Potter challenge).

I don’t know if it was the fact that I’ve read the book before or if it was something about this audio book itself that made it so I could actually keep up with it. I would love to have a few other good audio books to choose from for long car rides. What makes a good audio book? What are some good audio books that you’ve listend to?

Now off topic for a bit…

building legosHere is a picture of my nephew and my dad working on a Lego project while the rest of us were getting ready to go to my aunt’s house for Thanksgiving dinner.

3 Responses

  1. We need a picture of YOU! 😀

    I’ve heard those HP audiobooks are really good. I’m afraid to listen to them, though, because I know the books so well that I don’t want the audio version to replace voices and inflections in my head, if that makes sense. But I’ve read those books over 20 times each, you know?

  2. I never got into the HP books, but I do love audio books. I find, for me, the best kind of audio books to listen to is chick lit.

  3. Amanda – You know what my sister and I realized… there are not a lot of pictures of me! Once I needed a picture of myself for something, Kelly and I had to look through a ton of pictures before we found one. My sister did take some pics at Thanksgiving and I made sure to get in them. When she sends me the pictures I’ll post one. 🙂

    Yvonne – I’m trying to hard to be able to listen to other books. When listening to Harry Potter, my drive to work went by so fast!

Leave a Reply

