Nan’s Notes: The Giver, by Lois Lowry

the giver1by Lois Lowry

Pub. Date: September 2002

180 pages

Awards:

  • Newbery Medal (1994)
  • Mythopoeic Fantasy Award Nominee
  • Horn Book Fanfare Best Book (1994)
  • Garden State Book Award for Teen Fiction Grades 6-8 (1996)
  • American Library Association (ALA) Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) Best Books for Young Adults for Young Adults (1994)

The Giver is one of the books I read for the read-a-thon. I’ve been wanting to pick up this book for quite awhile. Finally, after joining the DystopYA reading challenge, I got to this book. This was a great book to read during the read-a-thon because once you pick it up, you don’t want to put it down.

It’s been awhile now since I read it, so I hope my summary of the story is accurate. Jonas is turning 12 years old. At the age of 12, everyone in the community is given a role/job. Jonas has no idea what his role is going to be. Surprising everyone, Jonas ends up getting the important role of Receiver of Memory. This assignment is a rare one and Jonas isn’t sure what to make of it. While working with The Giver, he learns many dark secrets about the community. As the Receiver of Memory, Jonas will end up holding all of the past history of the community and act as an adviser to the elders. He also realizes that he has some tough choices to make once he understands the secrets that keep his perfect community going.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I think I’m one of the last people to read it! What I didn’t know was that it is the first book in a trilogy. The fact that it is part of a trilogy is probably why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. I really wanted the book to tell the entire story. I was disappointed when I realized that there were 2 more books!I definitely want to read the rest of the trilogy to see what happens next.

Rating: 4/5

Challenges:

6 Responses

  1. Originally this WAS its own book, but after years of complaints from fans about the ambiguous ending, Lowry wrote the two companion novels, which aren’t very much like sequels. The second book actually has nothing ot do with this one at all, and the third ties the two loosely together.

  2. I’ll agree with Amanda- the other two books are more of companion books, rather than sequels or a trilogy.

    It’s been years since I read this, I should reread all three books.

  3. Thanks for the info ladies! I’m curious to check out the other books and I do feel disappointed in the ending of this one as a stand alone.

  4. Very interesting premise! I like it. Please check out my new teen offering by clicking on my name. Thanks 🙂

  5. I loved this book! I haven’t read the other two books just because I don’t want them to ruin the good feelings I have for the first book. 🙂 I think I may be one of the few people who liked having an ambiguous ending.

  6. I loved this book too! And don’t worry I thought I was the only one who hadn’t read it! So you’re in good company! 😀 This was the first book I read for the DystopYA reading challenge and found out that I really liked these kind of futuristic destinations. Unfortunately my TBR pile has many more books in it now! I also read The Maze Runner and will be reading The Uglies next… I look forward to how you liked the other books!

    Suzanne
    Chick with Books
    http://www.chickwithbooks.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

