Skunked!

Dogs015caWhat a morning! I got up let the dogs out, fed them, fed myself, took my shower. At 6:15, I let Tessa out again so she could hang out in the backyard while I checked my e-mail before leaving for work. All of sudden, I heard a commotion! Tessa was at the back door and so was a skunk! I screamed! Tessa then got behind the skunk so the skunk was in between the door and Tessa. And Tessa, was in between the skunk and its way out from the fenced in yard (it dug a hole under the fence).

I called my best friend, in tears. She came over and we got Tessa in the house and we saw the skunk get back out under the fence. The smell was so awful. It’s not the same smell like when you drive by a dead skunk in the road or when you smell that once has been in the area recently. It’s more like a burning smell. A burning rubber smell might describe it a little bit.

Needless to say, I couldn’t go to school today. I smelled so bad. The dog was a mess. And my house! Oh my house!

A wonderful groomer got my dog right in. And kept her most of the day so I could work on cleaning the house. She looks and smells so much better, except for one bad spot on the fleshy part of her nose.

We are also exhausted. I haven’t eaten because all I can smell is skunk and it makes me not want to eat. I’m going to take a shower and see if I can relax a bit.

I have sprinkled fox urine scent around the perimeter of my fence. If anyone has other skunk repellent idea, please let me know.

 

5 Responses

  1. Nan, I know this is going to sound stupid, but you need to rub yourself and your dog up with tomato juice. It will probably take a couple repetitions, but tomato juice gets rid of skunk smell. My mom used to have skunks as pets as a kid – don’t ask me why – and they just periodically bathed the skunks in tomato juice to un-stink them. I hope that helps.

  2. Oh, I should say, I don’t really know how to REPEL skunks, just how to get rid of the smell once they’ve been there. Sorry I can’t help more.

  3. Tessa actually smelled very good this morning! I was so glad. The house is better… it just smells like skunk, not the burning rubber mixed with rotting dead stuff smell from the initial spray. I never would have thought that waking up and smelling just plain old skunk would be a good thing!

    The kids in my class all made cards for Tessa. They are so cute! I cried as I read them tonight.

  4. I was just going to suggest tomato juice myself. I heard that works in getting rid of the smell. I hope the smell goes away soon.

  5. my dog and i were both skunked last summer. it took 6 months for the smell to be completely gone! don’t forget dish soap in any concoction.. the oil in the soap helps cut the oil in the the skunk’s spray.

Leave a Reply

