Read-a-thon: End of Event Meme

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?I had to go to sleep at 8:00 because I’ve been sick. So, I guess that hour 13 was the most daunting. 🙂 Next year I hope to do the whole thing.

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?I loved The Giver by Lois Lowry. I was also glad I had picked up some graphic novels.

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I loved it! I just wish I could have been awake for more it.

4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?This was my first read-a-thon so I have nothing to compare it to, but I loved the cheerleaders and all the activities each hour.
5. How many books did you read? 3 and I started a 4th
6. What were the names of the books you read?

  • American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
  • The Giver, by Lois Lowry
  • The Plain Janes, by Cecil Castellucci and Jim Rugg
  • started: The Strain by Guillermo Del Toro and Chuck Hoga

7. Which book did you enjoy most? They were all so different from each other! I need to think about this one. I did love The Giver.
8. Which did you enjoy least? I would have to say American Born Chinese because it made me feel uncomfortable, but I believe it was supposed to do that. It was a very interesting and thought provoking book.
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? I wasn’t a cheerleader… but I appreciate all they do!
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I will definitely participate next time! I would love to volunteer to be a cheerleader and also be a reader.

5 Responses

  1. American Born Chinese made me uncomfortable, too. :/

    But it looks like you enjoyed your first readathon!

  2. The Giver has been one of my fave books since I was young! 🙂 Congrats on the books you read! And I certainly hope you join in the cheerleading fun next time around! 😉

  3. now I’m really intrigued about American Born Chinese.

    Well done though, hope you’re feeling better.

  4. You did an amazing job, especially not to be feeling well. April will be here sooner than you realize.

  5. The Giver is one of my absolute favorite books. I really love Lowry, and so far I think The Giver is her best.

Leave a Reply

