Nan’s Notes: The Impostor’s Daughter: a true memoir, by Laurie Sandell

impostorsdaughter

  • Pub. Date: July 2009
  • 247 pp

I was lucky to win this book from She Reads and Reads.

The Impostor’s Daughter is a graphic memoir. Laurie Sandell writes about her experience growing up with her larger-than-life father. As a young adult, Laurie starts to question many of the stories that her father told her as a child. She starts to wonder who he really is. Laurie’s quest to find out more about her father is really a quest to find out more about herself.

I really enjoyed reading this book. I honestly can’t tell you if I enjoyed it because of the story or because I enjoyed reading it as a graphic memoir. I have read one other graphic novel, a book from the DCF list this year, Rapunzel’s Revenge, which I loved. The graphic novel/memoir format is so new to me and I really like it! That may be what I liked even more than the story. Does that make sense?

What are some other graphic novels or memoirs you have read? I’d love to check out some others.

Challenges:

4 Responses

  1. I’ve read quite a lot of graphic novels that I’ve liked this year – The PLAIN Janes by Cecil Castellucci, We Are On Our Own by Miriam Katin, anything by Marjane Satrapi, and more. In fact, I’m thinking about making November a month of solid graphic novel reviews…

  2. Thanks for the recommendations! I just checked and the library I volunteer at with my dog has all those books. I will be picking them up for the read-a-thon. Woo hoo!

  3. If you specifically want memoirs, look for Blankets by Craig Thompson, Maus by Art Speigelman, Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, and An American Widow by Alissa Torres.

  4. for a controversial and volatile read, please consider the newly released true novel by christian author r.k. rytaran entitled Euclid Avenue, Our scars mean something. the press release can be seen at eloquentbooks.com/euclidavenue.html. the book is also available at amazon.com, barnes & noble, books & co, books-a-million, borders and select hallmark book stores.

Leave a Reply

