Nan’s Notes: Dork Diaries – Tales from a Not-So Fabulous Life

dork diaries

  • by Rachel Renee Rusell
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
  • Pub. Date: June 2009
  • Age Range: 12 and up
  • 282 pages
I won this book through a giveaway on Goodreads.com.

The first thing I noticed when I got the book Dork Diaries:  Tales from a Not-So-Fabulous Life, is that it is packaged very similarly to Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney:

  • The book is written in diary format.
  • There are cartoon illustrations throughout the entries.
  • It’s about a middle schooler who is trying to find a place to fit in.

The main difference in packaging is that Dork Diaries is pink, with the target audience being girls.

I read Diary of a Wimpy Kid in November of last year, so the story if very hazy. What I do remember was laughing all through the book. I did not laugh my way through Dork Diaries. There were some funny parts, but not “laugh out loud” funny.

Dork Diaries, is the diary of Nikki J. Maxwell. Nikki is able to go to a private school because her dad is the exterminator there. Nikki is embarrassed by her dad and wants to fit in with the cool kids in the school, known as the CCP (Cute, Cool, and Popular). The leader of the CCP is Nikki’s archenemy, MacKenzie.

Nikki writes many entries about the trials and tribulations of junior high. She ends up becoming good friends with 2 other girls who work at the library with her. And, the boy that MacKenzie likes has a crush on Nikki. Nikki develops her artistic talent throughout the book and enters the school art show.

My favorite character in Dork Diaries was the Grandmother. She showed up two times in the book and both times I laughed. This Grandma takes hip hop dance classes from Krump Daddy, she is writing a book called The Price is Right for Morons (a how-to type book to help contestants on the show), and she gives out sage advice to Nikki, the main character of the book.

The book was a fast, easy read. I think it would be a fast, easy read for kids too. The cartoons are cute and add to the story. But, I just didn’t laugh out loud very often. I also found many of the characters, including Nikki, not very likable. I do wish the Grandmother was in it more often! She was a hoot!

Rating: 2/5 – I have changed this from a 2.5 originally to a 2.

Challenges:

3 Responses

  1. I don’t think I’d want my kids to read this kind of book.

  2. what is nikki’s father’s name in the book?

  3. HI Tiffany – I gave my book away and I don’t remember the father’s name. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

