What’s the best part of my job?

Want to know one of the best parts of my job? Reading aloud to kids and seeing them get excited about books! It really doesn’t get any better than that.

As I mentioned in last week’s Sunday Salon, this year’s first grade class is loving Junie B. Jones more than any other class I’ve had – and I’ve had classes really love those books! On Wednesday we finished Junie B. First Grader at Last. The kids were begging me to start the next one in the series, but it was time for dismissal so we had to wait until the next day. On Thursday we went to our scheduled library time. Just about every kiddo in my class went straight to the Junie B. shelf and checked out a Junie B. Jones book. The kids were so excited! I loved just standing back and watching them discuss their book choices with each other. I can’t wait to see what they choose to take out next week.

Hopefully I’ll get a review or two up during the beginning of next week. I’m out of town this weekend for my nephew’s 9th birthday party! How did he get to be 9 years old already?! We’re going to an indoor soccer park so play soccer, eat pizza, and birthday cake!

3 Responses

  1. Can I admit that I absolutely hate Junie? She’s been banned from my house. She’s such a little brat and I think she encourages bad behavior. I’m probably just a prude.

  2. This is a wonderful post -I love how you get to share your reading. Have a wonderful weekend!

  3. Amanda – I didn’t like her at first either. But now I just love reading them out loud. I love providing the voice for the various characters. Some of the more recent ones I won’t read to my class because of the use of the words stupid and dumb throughout the book – Alo-ha-ha-ha stands out in my mind as one I now avoid. ( I can’t remember which other ones off the top of my head.) I tell my class that is why I won’t read certain ones in the series, and we have a good discussion about it.

    Bookjourney – I hope you have a good weekend too!

Leave a Reply

