Sunday Salon: A New Routine

TSSbadge1

My new routine… Well school has officially started for me. The kids don’t come back until Wednesday, but the teachers had meetings everyday this past week and this coming  Monday and Tuesday. This week I hardly did any reading! I am enjoying the books I have started, I am just having trouble adjusting to my new routine.

During the summer I love to read blogs, post some comments, and read a few chapters of my books first thing in the morning. Now I need to find a new routine to do that. Mornings are just not possible since I leave for work around 6:30. I am going to try to really stick to not bringing home too much work each night so that I can curl up with my books and enjoy a few chapters. I also will be trying to keep up reading and commenting on all the wonderful blogs I enjoy so much.

An award… A huge THANK YOU goes out to Sheila over at One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books. She passed on the Humane Award to me.

humane_award_logo

The Humane Award is to honor certain bloggers that I feel are kindhearted individuals. They regularly take part in my blog and always leave the sweetest comments. If it wasn’t for them, my site would just be an ordinary book review blog. Their blogs are also amazing and are tastefully done on a daily basis. I thank them and look forward to our growing friendships through the blog world.

I recently passed this award on just a couple of weeks ago so instead of passing it on again, I’m just going to say thanks and ask readers to stop by Sheila’s blog and check it out. It’s really a great blog!

I’m also setting up a blog award page similar to Amanda’s blog award page over at The Zen Leaf. I like how she organized all her awards. And I think that makes it easier for other people to check out the pages of the blogs that sent me the awards.

Off to read… I’m heading over to my chair to curl up with the books I’m currently reading:

Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

7 Responses

  1. Right there with you. The kids in the school system where I work came back last week, and my reading and blogging activities have been much diminished. But it is so good to see the kids again!

    Congrats on the awards! Happy reading!

  2. I would set up an award page, too, but I’ve only ever received one award….Not that I’m complaining or sad or anything…don’t even like awards that much…not really….

  3. That’s the only nice thing about being a stay at home mom – my schedule doesn’t have to change a lot when school starts again. Not yet, at least. At some point I’ll be back in school myself.

    I love the award page idea. I saw it on J. Kaye’s blog and it just made everything so easy for me! I’m glad it’s working for you, too. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on your award! My kids aren’t in school yet, but I know it’s going to be a rude awakening later this week when I have to start getting up early. I’ve been so spoiled by sleeping in all summer.

  5. I hear you about the schedule change with the beginning of school. I taught high school for four years and I never got the balance right (which is why i only did it for 4 years). But i do so miss the beginning of a brand, spanking new school year and I miss (most) of the new kids that I got to meet each year.

    I hope you’re able to stick to your decision of not bringing too much work home. It’s hard. But you need some time to take care of yourself, too ;o). Enjoy your reading!

  6. Frances – It is good to see the kids again! We had a great first week and I actually did do some reading. 🙂

    debnance – I love that picture of the fortune cookie on your Sunday Salon post! I know I commented on it last week on your blog, but I just went back to check it out again. Now I’m hungry.

    Amanda – I love how that has worked on your page. It will also help to keep me organized.

    Alyce – I enjoyed sleeping in a bit this morning! It felt good not to have to rush around.

    Kristi – That’s one of the things I love about teaching too. You start with a clean slate each year. A new year full of possibilities!

  7. I just seen this post – thank you for the kind words! 🙂 I too am going to work on changing how I display awards. I like where you can click on a page and see them with who went them your way. The question is when will I have time…LOL

Leave a Reply

