Nan’s Notes: Found

foundby  Margaret Peterson Haddix

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
  • Pub. Date: April 2009
  • Age Range: 8 to 12
  • 314pp
  • Series: Missing Series, #1

DCF nominee

Found opens with a mysterious plane arriving at the airport. An airport employee goes to the gate to let everyone off, but no one comes out of the plane. The employee goes into the plane and finds the plane contains 36 babies, no pilot or adults at all.

From there, we go ahead 13 years and meet Jonah, his sister Katherine, and his best friend Chip. Chip and Jonah start to receive mysterious and threatening letters. They work together to try to figure out who sent the letters and why. Before they know it, they are involved with FBI, people who can appear and disappear, and people fighting against each other in order to harm and/or protect them. I don’t want to say too much that will give away the story. 🙂

I have picked up this book many times during my weekly trips to the library and I put it down each time. I knew I would eventually read it, because it was on the DCF list, but the cover just did not pull me in at all. Then, a colleague at work told me that it was a great read. The next time I went to the library, I picked it up and dove right in.

I read this 314 page book in two days. It was fantastic! I hadn’t read the blurb on the back of the book so I knew nothing about it except for what my colleague told me, which was what happened in the first 10 pages. The book had a beginning that pulled me right in from the first paragraph. Then, the mystery that the characters were trying to solve kept me going for the rest of the book.

I haven’t read anything else by this author, and she has a ton of books. I would like to give some of her other books a try.

Challenges:

Rating:  4/5
6 Responses

  1. What a strange premise! I tried reading Among the Hidden last year but couldn’t get into it. It’s the sort of book I would normally like but I think I was just not in the mood at the time. I haven’t read any o fher books since because of that, but this one sounds really interesting!

  2. This definitely sounds good! Haddix is an author I’ve been meaning to try for a while. I’ll keep this one in mind.

  3. Well I am hooked by the whole plane thing!!! I’m putting this on my list of books to get!! Sounds fascinating!

  4. OOH this sounds so good! Thanks for bringing it to my attention!

  5. Stop over – coffee is on and I have an award for you!

    http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/2009/08/23/award-presentation/

  6. Amanda – A friend at work told me that she felt Found was better than her other books.

    Nymeth – This one was such an exciting read. If you try one of her books, try this one.

    Jenners – I think you’ll like it.

    Bookjourney – Thanks so much for the award! That was a nice little treat this morning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

