Nan’s Notes: Knucklehead

knuckleheadby Jon Scieszka

  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Pub. Date: October 2008
  • Age Range: 9 to 11

DCF Nominee

Jon Scieszka is a children’s book author who has written a ton of books (picture books and chapter books), including one of my favorites: The True Story of the Three Little Pigs. For a complete list of his books check out Jon Scieszka’s website. He has a great sense of humor that appeals to both children and adults. I can read his books every year in my classroom and laugh just has hard as the first time I read them.

Knucklehead is memoir telling many of the adventures Jon had with his 5 brothers. Each short chapter (2-3 pages long) tells a funny story about the 6 Scieszka brothers. One of my favorites is chapter 16: Brother-Sitting. Here, Jon, the second oldest, tells about babysitting his younger brothers. At one point, Jon and his older brother Jim tie up brother Tom with some of dad’s old ties.

When Mom and Dad found out, they were not too thrilled.

What if there had been a fire?” said Mom, almost hysterical.

“It would have burned off the ties,” said Jim.

“Then Tom could have escaped,” I added. (page 48)

I laughed right out loud while reading this book. I think kids will enjoy the book too, but I don’t know if they would appreciate it as much as adults. Once I started reading this book, I didn’t want to put it down. The combination of very short chapters, humor, and great use of pictures kept me turning page after page. If you are a fan of Jon Scieszka’s books, you have to read this memoir.

Teacher warning: There is a chapter that deals with swearing and the words hell and damn appear in it (as a first grade teacher I wouldn’t want to read that out loud to the class).

Rating: 4/5

Challenges:

2 Responses

  1. How funny! I haven’t heard of this author, or his books, but they sound very entertaining!

  2. My son just LOVES this author’s Trucktown series. This sounds like a lot of fun.

Leave a Reply

