Nan’s Notes: Dead Until Dark

dead until dark

  • by Charlaine Harris
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Pub. 312 pages
  • Series: Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Series, #1

I think I must be one of the last people to have read one of the books in this series. I honestly had no desire to, until I saw some of the actors from the HBO series True Blood on a couple of talk shows. After seeing some clips from the series, I thought I might want to watch it. I decided to read the first book in the series to see how scary it was. (It wasn’t  scary.) I’m so glad I picked up the book.

Dead Unti Dark introduces us to Sookie Stackhouse, a waitress with a “disability” – she is able to read people’s thoughts. This makes relationships awfully difficult. Then, she meets Bill. Bill is a vampire and Sookie starts dating him. In the meantime, there are murders and a mean group of vampires that are interested in Sookie’s disability/ability.

Dead Until Dark is not a deep book, but it is a fun summer read.  Now that I’ve read the first book in the series, I have added True Blood to my Netflix queue. I can’t wait to see it.

I have read a couple of vampire books in a short period of time (New Moon and now this one.) Neither were very scary but I did have a nightmare last week about vampires! I think I need to take a little break from vampire books.  🙂

rating: 3.5/5

Challenges:

3 Responses

  1. Yeah I tried to read this one and after the first few paragraphs, I said nevermind. Not my kind of book, I guess.

  2. The thing that actually almost made me put this book down was not the story but the smell. I take a lot of books out from my library and I’ve never had one smell so bad! I’m not a smoker and I’m very sensitive to cigarette smoke. Someone who has taken this book out before must be a very heavy smoker. I had to wash my hands every time I read the book.

    It’s not my usual type of book, but I really was in the mood for this light and funny vampire story.

  3. I’m happy to have found someone else who wasn’t instantly hooked on this series! The book was okay and I will probably read some of the other books. But I don’t feel the desire to rush off and get all of them right away that most other people seem to have.

    I tried to watch True Blood, but didn’t get past the opening credits. I’ll probably watch it at some point, but like the books, I’m not in too much of a hurry. Let me know what you think of it when you watch it!

Leave a Reply

