Sunday Salon – A Busy Week!

TSSbadge1

How did it get to be Sunday already? I never even had time to finish last week’s Sunday Salon! This week was busy with traveling, company, winning a book, and some awards.

Traveling and company: On the spur of the moment I went down to my parents’ house for a quick visit that ended up being an extra day or two! We had so much fun.Then, after I got back home, my cousin and her two kids came up to my house on a spur of the moment decision. We had a blast going to Festival of Fools and playing outside. Now, I am getting caught up on blog reading, reading books, and Sunday Salon.

What to read next? I’m looking forward to my visit to the library tomorrow. I need to pick up some more books for this week. My original plan was to go to the bookstore to buy The Strain this week. But earlier in the week I had a nightmare about vampires (I’ve recently read 2 vampire books). I think my brain is telling me to take a  break from the vampires. That means I get to choose some books from the library. I might grab some more books from the DCF shelf so I can read more from that list.  So far I’ve read 7 out of 30 books.

Tessa, one of my chocolate labs, if looking forward to some reading time this week. Last week was so busy I didn’t get to sit on the deck and read at all! Reading on the deck for me means fetch time for Tessa! The longer I read, the longer she gets to play! Now that we are not traveling and we don’t have company, I know I’ll be able to sit on the deck and read.

I won a book this week! I won a copy of Julie and Julia from Laura over at I’m Booking It. I am so excited to win that book because I really want to read it. Thanks Laura!

This week, I have 2 awards to post.

humane_award_logoFirst is the Humane Award from Laura over at I’m Booking It. Laura actually gave this to me quite awhile ago and I’m just now getting to posting about it. So sorry Laura! I do really appreciate it. The Humane Award is to honor certain bloggers that I feel are kindhearted individuals. They regularly take part in my blog and always leave the sweetest comments. If it wasn’t for them, my site would just be an ordinary blog. Their blogs are also amazing and are tastefully done on a regular basis. I thank them and look forward to our growing friendships through the blog world.

I would like to pass this award on to the following people:

  1. Amanda from The Zen Leaf
  2. Dar from Peeking Between the Pages
  3. Alyce from At Home With Books

zombie_chicken_awardThe next award is such a fun one! It is the Zombie Chicken Award from Amanda over at The Zen Leaf. The blogger who receives this award believes in the Tao of the zombie chicken – excellence, grace and persistence in all situations, even in the midst of a zombie apocalypse. These amazing bloggers regularly produce content so remarkable that their readers would brave a raving pack of zombie chickens just to be able to read their inspiring words. As a recipient of this world-renowned award, you now have the task of passing it on to at least 5 other worthy bloggers. Do not risk the wrath of the zombie chickens by choosing unwisely or not choosing at all…

This award really makes me smile. I would like to pass this onto the following blogs:

  1. Laura from I’m Booking It
  2. Sheila at One Person’s Journey Through a World of Books
  3. Gautami Tripathy at Everything Distils into Reading
  4. Jeane at DogEar Diary
  5. Jenners at Find Your Next Book Here

Pop on over to Sunday Salon to read other entries or to post your own.


12 Responses

  1. Congrats for the awards.

    And I like being a zombie chicken!

    Thanks!

    😀

  2. Julie and Julia is a good summer read. Enjoy!

    And enjoy your awards!

  3. I am smiling big time here. 🙂 See?

    How very cool is that award! Thank you! That is a first for me and I love it!

  4. Thanks so much! I always thought the zombie chicken award was the craziest one- very cool. Congrats on all your awards!

  5. Thank you for the award! And you deserve the zombie chickens. They make me smile, too. Best award ever! 🙂

  6. gautami tripathy, , Bookjourney, Jeane, Amanda – You are all very welcome for the award. I love visiting each of your blogs everyday!

    debnance – I’m really looking forward to reading it.

  7. Congratulations on your much deserved awards! Thank you for passing the Humane award on to me!

  8. […] The Zombie Chicken Award was given to me by Nan’s Corner of The Web.  Nan is so sweet and this award truly cracks me […]

  9. Sounds like you had a good week-that’s awesome. I can’t believe how fast time is flying by.

    Congrats on your well deserved award and for passing The Humane award to me-I’m honored that you would think of me.

    I won Julie & Julia too. I’m going to slip in a few chapters today. It’s actually a pretty big book. I don’t know why but I imagined it shorter. lol.

    Have a great week!

  10. Alyce and Darlene – I was very happy to be able to pass on the award to you ladies.

    School starts in 2 weeks… I’m not ready for summer to be over!

  11. Sounds like a busy weekend … but a nice time reading on the deck sounds good to me! Hope the weather cooperates!

    And I recently won a copy of Julie and Julia too! I hope to finish it while the movie is still out!

    And thanks for thinking of me for the Zombie Chicken! I’m very flattered and honored! : )

  12. I’ve been kind of out of the loop with blogging lately, but just wanted to say thanks so much for the Zombie Chicken!

Leave a Reply

