Nan’s Notes: The Blue Notebook

the blue notebook

  • by James A. Levine
  • Publisher: Spiegel & Grau
  • Pub. Date: July 2009

I won this copy from Devourer of Books.

Synopsis:

The Blue Notebook takes place in India. It is the story of Batuk, a young girl who is sold into the sex slave industry by her father. Batuk learns to read and write from an earlier stay at a clinic, and she documents her life in a blue notebook and other pieces of paper.

Nan’s Notes:

This short book packs quite a punch. It was a powerful read that is difficult to sum up in a review. At times, the book was hard to read because of the brutality in it. But I feel it is a book that everyone should read. I felt that James Levine captured the voice of this young girl in a believable way. One thing that stuck out to me, is that even as Batuk was beaten, raped, and treated as a piece of garbage; something in her kept surviving. That spark within us that makes us human. Even after finishing the book, I couldn’t stop thinking about Batuk’s story. The Blue Notebook is one of those books that stay with you, long after you have put it down.

The author is donating his U.S. royalties from the book to the International Center for Missing and Exploited Children and the National Center fro Missing and Exploited Children.

Rating: 5/5

Challenges:

5 Responses

  1. My first thought on seeing your review was that I’d seen the book before, and was sure i had it on my goodreads list. I didn’t, however, so before I added it, I read your thoughts, and I don’t t hink I could handle the brutality. I can get really squeamish about things like that.

  2. The zombie chickens are coming. You have an award here. 🙂

  3. Thanks so much Amanda! That is a fun award. 🙂

  4. Amanda – the books was really good, but a very difficult read because of the brutality. If you are squeamish about things like that it would be even tougher to read. It might be one for you to skip.

    I just realized I never gave this book a rating… I’ll have to go back and do that right now!

  5. Nan, I’ve heard that this book is a difficult read but one well worth reading. I have it in my tbr pile and must get to it.

Leave a Reply

