Nan’s Notes – Three quick reviews

I got a bit behind in reviewing some books. Here are three quick reviews on some of my recent reads:

new moonNew Moon, by Stephenie Meyer – I didn’t really like Twilight, but I do have to say that I know I would have been all over these when I was younger.  Probably reading them cover to cover as quickly as possible. After reading Twilight, I had no plan to read any more of the series, and then I saw the movie. I wanted to see what was going to happen next so I read New Moon. I felt like New Moon was basically a Three’s Company episode – everything was just a big misunderstanding.  First, a vision was misunderstood and Edward and family thought Bella had tried to kill herself. Edward called the house and a misunderstood phone conversation confirms it, etc, etc. I still can’t stand Bella. But I will probably at some point end up watching the movie and I bet I will then pick up the next book to see what happens. I’m just so nosy!  rating: 2 out of 5

11 planets11 Planets: A New View of the Solar System by David Aguilar – This book was for my DCF Challenge. This is a short, non-fiction book filled with drawings, photographs, and interesting facts about the solar system. This book talks about 11 different planets (8 regular planets and 3 dwarf planets:  Pluto, Ceres, Eris).  I like the use of non-fiction conventions throughout this book: diagrams, captions, photographs, and maps. There is a great “Solar System in a Grocery Bag” activity on page 47. rating: 4/5

fragmentFragment, by Warren Fahy – The book jacket describes Fragment as a combination of Jurassic Park and The Ruins. I think that is a good description. It does start out feeling so much like Jurassic Park that I actually had a little trouble getting over that. Then, I got into the story and went along for the ride!  You probably can predict a lot of what will happen in the book and you really need to suspend your disbelief;  but if you are in the mood for an action filled thriller then this may fit the bill. A fun book on a hot summer day.  rating: 3/5

4 Responses

  1. I didn’t hate Twilight, but hated New Moon. Oddly, there was a sneak peak of the next book in both books, and after reading the first chapter of New Moon, I had to go to the bookstore and read what happened at that cliffhanger. Just the 2nd chapter was enough. I can’t even remember what happened in the sneak peak of Eclipse I read. It certainly didn’t make me care about the next book.

  2. I haven’t read the Twilight books, but you made me laugh with your comparison to a Three’s Company episode. 🙂

    I really enjoyed Fragment, but then I was in the mood for a good action/thriller book, and Crichton was one of my favorite authors as a teenager, so it was a little nostalgic.

  3. You are the first person beside me who I’ve seen say they hate Bella. I hate Bella. Oh my Gosh, she’s such a whinny little brat. Her life is so awful. But she’s got two parents who love her, lots of friends at school and three boys drooling over her. Yet she acts like she’s the biggest teenage outcast in the world. She wouldn’t have survived one day of my 16 year old life.

  4. Amanda – I saw the sneak peek at the end of the book, but I didn’t read it. I was afraid it would make me curious and I wanted to wait until after seeing the movie.

    Alyce – Three’s Company is really all I thought of throughout the book! I kept hearing the song – Come and know on our door… – everytime I picked up the book. That song really gets stuck in your head!

    Tina – I hear ya about Bella!

Leave a Reply

