Nan’s Notes: Rapunzel’s Revenge

rapunzel

DCF Nominee

Synopsis: (from Shannon Hale‘s website)
Once upon a time, in a land you only think you know, lived a little girl and her mother…or the woman she thought was her mother. Every day, when the little girl played in her pretty garden, she grew more curious about what lay on the other side of the enormous garden wall. As she grew older, things seemed weirder and weirder, until the day she finally climbed to the top of the wall and was horrified by what she saw beyond.

Nan’s Notes:

This is the first graphic novel I’ve ever read. I picked this book up when I went to the library today because it’s one of the DCF nominated books and I’m trying to read all of them. When I sat down later on, I picked up and I didn’t stop until I finished it. I read it in one sitting – right through lunch time!

In this story, Rapunzel is a smart, tough, independent girl. After rescuing herself from her tower, she teams up with Jack as they travel through Gothel’s Reach in a quest to save Rapunzel’s real mother. They help various people throughout their journey with Rapunzel’s hair being a very effective weapon.

This story is full of humor as Rapunzel narrates the story. I laughed out loud many times. One example:

page 75: As Rapunzel and Jack enter the town of Last Chance, the narration states:
narration: Last Chance was quiet. Almost too quiet.
Rapunzel: “It’s quiet.”
Jack: ” Almost too quiet.
narration: On second thought, it was just plain quiet.
I really liked Rapunzel. For me, she is the opposite of Bella from the Twilight books. She doesn’t need someone else to save her. She is able to save herself and others around her.

When I went to the author’s website, I noticed that she also wrote The Actor and the Housewife which I’ve read about on a few other blogs. I definitely want to read more from this author. I would also like to try some other graphic novels. What are some graphic novels you can recommend?

Rating: 4/5

Challenges:

5 Responses

  1. One of the people on my old group blog reviewed this in January and I put it on my to-read list, but then I read Austenland by Shannon Hale and hated it with a passion, so I’ve kind of been putting off this graphic novel. One day I’ll get to it, but probably not until the Hale taste in my mouth washes away. 🙂

  2. I must confess that I have never read a graphic novel, but this sounds like a fun one. And I always like a strong female character! And the quote you shared is funny. Good review! : )

  3. I just started listening to Hale’s Austenland last night. So far I’ve been enjoying it. I like graphic novels, even though I don’t read as many of them as I’d like. I’ll definitely have to put this one on my list – I loved the excerpt you quoted. It sounds like a fun read.

  4. I really want to read another graphic novel just so I have something to compare this one to. This one really made me laugh out loud.

  5. This looks really good. I dont think I have read a graphic novel yet either….

    Thanks for posting! Ill look for it at my bookstore! Going there today! YAY!!!!

Leave a Reply

