Nan’s Notes: The Girl Who Stopped Swimming

the girl who stopped swimming

by Joshilyn Jackson

  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
  • Pub. Date: May 2009
  • 308pp
  • read July 9, 2009

I won this copy from Mary at Bookfan- Mary!

Laurel lives in a gated community with her husband, David, and her daughter Shelby. One night, Laurel is woken up by the ghost of Molly, who is one of Shelby’s friends. Laurel discovers Molly dead in their pool. Why was Molly there and what happened? Was Shelby involved somehow? Laurel discovers secrets from her past while she tries to solve the mystery of Molly’s death.

I really loved the first 100 or so pages. I flew through them and couldn’t put the book down! Then, I had a little trouble keeping my attention and focus in the book. I’m not sure if this is all the fault of the book. (I started teaching summer school the week I read this book and I had a lot of other projects going on at home.) I actually had to go back and reread a few parts because I had no ideas what was going on.

One thing about the book that I didn’t like was how Laurel’s family from DeLop was portrayed. I found them to be very stereotypical and the way Laurel talked about them made me dislike Laurel!

I liked the idea of the book and I do want to try something else by this author… hopefully at a time when I’m not so busy!

I really don’t know what to give this book as a rating. I think I waited too long to rate it! I guess I’ll go with a 2.5 out of 5 stars.  Based on the start of the book, I would go more towards the 3 out of 5, but because I got lost a few times I’m sliding down towards the 2.

Challenges:
4 Responses

  1. Hmm…not a good recommendation. I signed up for a couple contests of this one because it sounded like a good plot, but as I’m not a fan of modern adult books, I have to say I don’t have high expectations. This lowered them a bit more.

  2. I still want to read something else by this author. I did really like the first 100 pages, then between the book and summer school, I just wasn’t that into it. I hate it when I have something else going on so I can’t tell if it is just the book or other stuff getting in the way of enjoying the book.

  3. I really enjoyed this book — mostly because of Thalia. But I can see your point about the DeLop characters. ; )

  4. Jenners, have you read other books by this author? I do want to read some others by her.

Leave a Reply

