Nan’s Notes: Shift, by Jennifer Bradbury

shiftby Jennifer Bradbury

  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster Children’s Publishing
  • Pub. Date: May 2008
  • Age Range: Young Adult
  • 245p

DCF Nominee

Chris Collins and his friend Win spend the summer riding their bikes from the East to the West Coast. Somewhere along the way, they get into a fight and Win takes off without Chris. Chris continues on his way, returns home, and starts college. All the while he assumes Win has done the same thing. That is, until Win’s dad and the FBI start asking questions.

I really enjoyed this book. The chapters alternate between the present (while Chris is in college) and the past (the bike trip). Even though I was able to predict many of the plot points, I still enjoyed riding along on the adventure.

Shift is a coming of age story, but it feels different than many of the coming of age stories I’ve read.  I’ve read some reviews that say they are disappointed because the reader felt it was going to be more of a thriller based on the description. I think the tag line:  “Some friends fade away… others disappear” actually describes the story well. The book is not only about the physcial disappearence of Win, but about how friends can grow apart and change, causing them to disappear.

Rating: 4/5

Challenges:

4 Responses

  1. Glad this ended up being enjoyable. You know I already added it t my list. 🙂

  2. This book sounds fascinating. I’ve had so many friends over the years that have just kind of disappeared from my life (without the FBI being involved though). 🙂 I’m going to add this one to my list.

  3. This book sounds good. I’m going to have to get it added to my TBR pile.

  4. This sounds like a good read. I actually like it when they go back and forth and entwine the story inbetween. It gives you a perspective of then and now.

    Thanks for stopping by today. I hope you can come back on Wednesday on the Blogoversary day and get in on the giveaway. 🙂

    Have a great afternoon! I am out to mow the lawn! YIPPY!

Leave a Reply

