The Wednesday Sisters

wednesday sisters

  • by Meg Waite Clayton
  • Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
  • Pub. Date: May 2009
  • 320pp

I won this autographed copy from a giveaway on Hey Lady! Whatcha Readin’. Thanks so much Trish!

I loved this book! I’m so glad I won this book. I don’t know if I would have picked it up if I hadn’t won it… but now I have a new favorite author.

This book follows the lives of 5 women, Frankie, Linda, Kath, Ally, and Brett. They start out meeting once a week at the park in the 1960’s, sharing bits and pieces of their lives in conversation. A quote from page 22 explains it well:

It [the story] would come later, not all at once,  but in pieces over the years. I came to now the story of Linda’s mom the way we came to know everything about each other, I suppose. The way friends who are as close as we are know the important moments in each other’s lives, even when we weren’t there.

The focus of their weekly meetings changes when they decide to start to write. They share their thoughts on their writings while developing an extremely close friendship. The bond that develops helps them through tough personal times and a changing society.

I did not want this book to end. It’s a short book, 286 pages, but there is so much story in it. At one point I was so involved with the story, that I read right through lunch time! (For me to miss a meal is a big thing.) The friendship felt real among the women in the book. As the reader, I was right there with them for the ups and downs of their lives. Their writing group made me want to start a writing group with my friends!

My only problem with the book is that in the beginning, I had trouble telling some of the women apart (which one wore the gloves or who is married to that guy). This could be a problem on my part because I was very busy getting ready for my relay while I was reading this book. Or, could it be the way the women described themselves in the beginning. This quote on page 18 might explain it:

But that morning, by way of explaining ourselves to Ally, we talked about what our husbands did, which was how we defined ourselves in those days.

Maybe I had trouble telling the women apart because in the beginning they weren’t sharing themselves, they were sharing info about their husbands, keeping themselves more in the background. Other than that one problem, I loved this book! I will be looking forward to Meg’s next book.

The Wednesday Sisters was one of my favorite reads for the month of June.

Challenges:

Rating: 4.5/5

Nan’s Notes: Check out this book and make sure to check out Meg Waite Clayton’s website.

3 Responses

  1. I’ve never heard of this book but it sounds really interesting. I’m adding it to the to-read list.

  2. I’ve had this book on my shelf for ages. I really need to get to reading it. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. Books that you don’t want to end are the best.

  3. I bought this book a long time ago and it’s been languishing in my TBR pile ever since. It sounds like I need to get to it soon.

Leave a Reply

