Nan’s Notes: The Hunger Games

hunger games

  • by Suzanne Collins
  • Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.Pub.
  • Date: October 2008
  • Age Range: 12
  • 374pp

Wow! What a great book! The Hunger Games pulls you right into the story and never lets you go. This book is the story of Katniss Everdeen and the annual Hunger Games. Every year, 24 teenagers are picked (in Shirley Jackson Lottery style) to fight to the death in this televised event. My emotions were so closely tied with the main characater, that I actually felt exhausted after some of her more physical trials.There is so much in this book, it can appeal to so many different people: survival, wilderness, fighting, a little romance, family dystopian society, reality TV.

This book raises so many questions in the reader’s mind, leaving the reader to answer them, not the author. What is murder? How are different ways of killing the same and/or different? What will you do for survival? What if your survival depends on the death of others? Can outside forces change who you are? On page 141, Peeta (another teenager from the same district as Katniss) is talking to Katniss about his fears before the Games begin:

“My best hope is not to disgrace myself and…” He hesitates.

“And what?” I say.

“I don’t know how to say it exactly. Only… I want to die as myself. Does that make any sense?”  he asks. I shake my head. How could he die as anyone but himself? “I don’t want them to change me in there. Turn me into some kind of monster that I’m not.”

I would love to read this book in a book discussion group setting with teenagers and hear their thoughts on the book. This is the type of book that stays with you for awhile. I’m going to be thinknig about this book, and mulling over some of the themes for quite awhile. The Hunger Games is one of my favorites of the year so far, and I can’t imagine it coming off the list.

Rating: 5/5
3 Responses

  1. I loved this book so much!!! I’ve said that before though, haha. So the teen book group at my library is doing this book next month. The group has been running for nearly 3 years now, and except for the first month, no teen has ever shown up for it (how sad!). Last December, I talked to the lady who ran it and found this out. I’d always not gone because I figured I”d be in the way amidst the teens, but when I found out she didn’t haven’t any members, I started going, and now two other adult friends also go. We’re four women between the ages of 25 and 45 all discussing teen books. Kinda funny, but we have a great time, and I just can’t wait to discuss this one with the group. I’ve already read it twice, and will probably read it again when I get to check it out again.

  2. Great review, my copy has just arrived so I’ll be reading this one next week.

  3. I loved this book, I can’t wait until Mockingjay! on my website http://www.mackenziesinsideworld.blogspot.com I have a review for it 2!
    I had to give this book 5 diamonds!
    Do you have a good reads?
    http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2353533
    That’s mine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

