Nan’s Notes: The Graveyard Book

the graveyard book

Awards:

  • Newbery Medal 2009
  • Cybils Award in Middle Grade Fantasy and Science Fiction 2008
Synopsis (from www.bn.com):
Nobody Owens, known to his friends as Bod, is a normal boy. He would be completely normal if he didn’t live in a sprawling graveyard, being raised and educated by ghosts, with a solitary guardian who belongs to neither the world of the living nor of the dead. There are dangers and adventures in the graveyard for a boy. But if Bod leaves the graveyard, then he will come under attack from the man Jack—who has already killed Bod’s family . . . Beloved master storyteller Neil Gaiman returns with a luminous new novel for the audience that embraced his New York Times bestselling modern classic Coraline. Magical, terrifying, and filled with breathtaking adventures, The Graveyard Book is sure to enthrall readers of all ages

Nan’s Notes:

I have heard and read so much about this book and author. This is the first book by Neil Gaiman that I have read, and it won’t be the last. It’s interesting that I read this book right after reading The Old Willis Place. The two books are very different, but both have characters that are ghosts, how are among the living. My experience reading these two books couldn’t have been more different. While I could not grow to care for the characters or their circumstances in The Old Willis Place, I had the opposite reaction to The Graveyard Book.

From the very beginning of the book, I was drawn to the character of Nobody “Bod” Owens and I became a part of his world. I loved how many of the chapters could have stood on their own as short stories, yet they worked together to create a cohesive story. I loved the variety of characters that support Bod both educationally and emotionally as he grows up in the graveyard.

Rating: 4/5

4 Responses

  1. I’ve heard good things about this one, too, and I’ve liked Gaiman’s YA-and-younger books so far (not a big fan of the adult ones). I’m planning to read this one for the readathon in October.

  2. I’m glad to hear you liked this one. I have it waiting for me at the library-on audio though. I heard it was great to listen to also.

  3. I’ve also heard that it is a very book to listen to. I’m so glad I liked this book as much as I did. I’m not a huge fantasy fan, but I had no problem with this one.

  4. […] Rebecca Reads- Farm Lane Books- Kyusi Reader- Steph & Tony Investigate!- Nan’s Corner of the Web- The Eclectic Reader- Kiss a Cloud- Necromancy Never Pays- Chain Reading- Mari Reads- Everyday […]

Leave a Reply

