Monday Musings (May25)

musing-mondays-bigMusing Mondays is hosted over at Just One More Page. Click on over to join in the fun!

Today’s MUSING MONDAYS post is about gift certificates…

Do you give gift certificates to book stores as presents? If so, do you give for actual stores or online stores? Do you like to receive them yourself?
I love giving gift certificates to book stores as presents! I usually give gift certificates that can be used at either the large bookstore near me or online. I like gift certificates that give you the option of online or real bookstore so that the user has a choice. I especially love giving a gift certificate to my nephews, who love to pick out their own books.
One of my favorite gifts to receive is also a bookstore gift certificate. (Although, I also really enjoy getting a book as a gift. Often, that is how I have come across some of my favorite books!) As a teacher, it’s wonderful when I get a Barnes and Noble gift certificate from the kids in my class as a Christmas present or end of the year gift. There are always books I want to go buy for the classroom.  🙂
What about you? Do you like giving and receiving gift certificates to bookstores?
10 Responses

  1. Gift cards are wonderful! My only problem is that I so often buy at used stores, so a gift card in a place like B&N never goes very far. I wonder if places like Half Price Books give out gift certs…

  2. I usually buy gift cards as raffles on my blog. I don’t know that many readers. Here is Musing Monday 41

  3. Same here, I rarely get books as gifts and if I do, I get asked for the title. I let my son use the gift certificate I got once.. and he loved it 🙂

  4. I rarely get one, but I might if I put it on wish list. That was a great idea, I’m always terrible at coming up with wishes when someone asks me.

    I have never bought gift certificates at a bookstore as a present, but I have bought books as presents.

  5. I usually buy clothes for children, but giving bookstore gift certificates is a great idea. Think I’ll do both from now on!

  6. Love giving and receiving books as presents. Not so sure about gift certs to bookstores though… although, I find that I tend to give gift certificates as wedding presents. However, they’re obviously not for bookstores!

    Here’s mine : My Monday Musings

  7. I like giving them as presents too. It’s just that I don’t know many readers! I love getting them though. The only problem is deciding what to buy with the card!

  8. I think book store gift certs are a great one size fits all gift. Love getting them, love giving them! 🙂

  9. I wish more of my family/friends were readers then I would give book gift cards more. I also love receiving them, but my non-reader friends don’t think of it.

  10. Thanks for all the great comments. I have been or will be stopping by all your blogs to check them out. Happy reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

