Spring Reading Thing 2009

Yep! It’s another reading challenge! This challenge is over at Callapidder Days. Here are the rules:

Essentially, Spring Reading Thing 2009 is a fun, low-pressure reading challenge open to anyone and everyone. It will take place March 20th-June 20th (which is, coincidentally, the spring of 2009).

To participate, here’s what you need to do:

  • Create a list of some books you’d like to read or finish this spring.
  • Feel free to set some additional reading goals (such as reading to your kids two hours per week, getting through your pile of magazines, etc.). This is completely optional.
  • Write a blog post including the list of books you want to read and any additional goals you’ve set, and get ready to post it on your blog on March 20th.
  • Visit Callapidder Days on March 20th to sign up. I’ll have a Mr. Linky set up that morning, so you can submit a link to your personal Spring Reading Thing post, and it will be added to the master list.
  • Read! Work on your goals throughout Spring 2009.
  • Report your results. Write another blog post in June to let everyone know how you did.
  • Have fun! Visit other participants to see what they’re reading. Write reviews if you’re so inclined. But most of all, enjoy your spring reading.

Here’s my list:

Testimony by Anita Shreve (COMPLETED: April 21)

Handle With Care, by Jodi Picoult (COMPLETED: March 28)

The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman (Newbery Award) (COMPLETED JUNE 6)

Lost Souls, by Lisa Jackson (COMPLETED: APRIL 28)

Absolute Fear, by Lisa Jackson (Completed: May 22)

10 Responses

  1. have fun with the reading challenge 🙂 I have The Graveyard Book in my TBR.

  2. Good list. I’m doing this challenge too. I hope to read Handle with Care soon also. Happy Reading.

  3. I just picked up Handle with Care today! It came in at the library. I hope to finish The Book Thief this weekend so I can start Handle With Care by Monday. 🙂

  4. I keep running into The Graveyard Book, and it has me very curious! And I usually enjoy Jodi Picoult’s books, so I’m sure I’ll read Handle with Care before long, even though it didn’t make it on to my spring list. Enjoy your reading, and thanks for being part of the challenge!

  5. I want to read Handle with Care.. totally need to get a copy of that to read 🙂 Have fun reading!

  6. Thanks Lindsay!

    Katrina – thanks for having the challenge!

  7. Great list for your Spring reading. I have two of them on my TBR list.

  8. I’ve heard great things about Jodi Picoult. I plan on reading one of her books later this year. Enjoy!

    -Ashley

  9. Good list. I have a Jodi Picoult on my list too. It will be my first time reading her books.

    I’ll be interested to see what you think of Graveyard Book I have been hearing lots of good things about it.

    Thank you for welcoming me to the challenge and posting on my blog.

  10. Thanks for all the comments! I really like the idea of this challenge… I hope I can get all the books done that I picked.

    Happy reading everyone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

