Musing Mondays (March 9)

musing-mondays-big

Musing Mondays is hosted over at One More Page. This week’s question asks:

What is your policy when it comes to new authors? Do you feel comfortable purchasing a book or do you prefer to borrow new authors from the library? How often do you ‘try out’ a new author?

What a great question! I guess whether or not I buy a book by a new author depends on a couple of things. First, is it a brand new author, or just new to me? If  it’s new to me, and I’ve heard from several people that I will love it, I may buy the book. If it’s a brand new author, that has become very popular, I also might buy the book… instead of waiting on the waiting list at the library. I have learned to become much more patient with the waiting list at the library. Since I am doing a library challenge this year, I am trying to take out as many books as possible from the library. Not only does this help for the challenge… but it also helps with my wallet! 🙂

Some authors that I might want to try out, my library just doesn’t have (it’s a small library) so I do have to buy the book.

I wish I had bought the book The Art of Racing in the Rain, instead of borrowing it from a friend because I loved that book so much. I really want to own a copy of it… especially since I bought one for every member of my family for Christmas!

What about you? How do you go about trying out a new author?

7 Responses

  1. You should have treated yourself to a copy of The Art of Racing in the Rain for Christmas as well — a little gift to yourself!

    I think that is great about the library challenge — definitely saves money!

  2. Great answer, Nan! 🙂

  3. My library has an interloan policy with surrounding libraries which makes almost anything available. Nice!

  4. I would love to use the library more, but I hate having to be on a deadline to finish a book. LOL

  5. i am able to use my library card in any of the surrounding towns libraries, but I don’t often get to many of the other libraries, unless it is a Therapy Dog weekend. Then I get to go volunteer at a great library … with a huge selection! During the summer I do get myself over there more often, but it’s hard during the school year.

  6. Yvonne, the problem I have is sometime I’ll go into the library to get a certain book and then I find a ton of books that look great! I’m a slow reader so I hate to take too many out at once because I know I won’t get through them.

  7. I actually think being a new author is an incentive to purchasing the book. I love new authors! 🙂

Leave a Reply

