Musing Mondays (March 2)

musing-mondays-big

Musing Mondays is hosted over at One More Page. This week’s question asks:

When reading do you read every word? Do you ever skip chapters or skim over parts? (question curtesy of Wendy)

I usually read every word, which is why I’m a bit of a slow reader. I did go through a period of time when I was extremely metacognitive of all my thought processes while I was reading. I wanted to understand what my brain did when I came upon info I already knew about (had prior knowledge about) and how my brain would react to something that was completely knew to me.  This happened while writing my thesis and teaching a graduate level course on how to teach reading. I would get so wrapped up on trying to see what my brain was doing while I was reading, that I would sometimes forget what I was reading!

I do know that if I’m tired or more stressed out, I will find myself daydreaming and skimming. But then I usually go back and reread. I hate to think I missed anything!

2 Responses

  1. I know I’m too tired to read when I finish a page and wonder what I just read and have to go back.

  2. Last night was a good example… I must have reread the same page 3 times before I finally realized I was too tired to keep reading.

Leave a Reply

