TSS: A new year and looking at e-readers (1/2/11)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

A new year has begun! I love the feeling of a new year. There are so many possibilities and a chance to make a fresh start.

My overall goals for the year are to increase my reading and blogging, both of which went way down in 2010. I also want to do a better job taking pictures throughout the year. My resolution in 2009 was to upload pictures each month to Snapfish and add them to an album. Then at the end of the year, I had a beautiful album to order, with pictures from the entire year! Unfortunately, I did not continue this into 2010. Now, I got a new camera for Christmas and birthday, so I am going to try to work on this project again for 2011.

Yesterday, I posted that I was starting to look at the NOOK from Barnes and Noble. Thanks so much for the great advice given in the comments! I did go and meet with a salesperson and I played around with the NOOKs for about 45 minutes to an hour. I had no idea they could do so much! Holy cow! I felt like I was in an infomercial with each reaction I had after the salesperson would show me something else on the NOOK. When I went in, I was thinking I wanted a regular NOOK because of the e-ink. But I love the ease of  the touchscreen on the NOOKcolor. Many people keep telling me that it doesn’t take long until you forget you are reading on an e-reader and just get lost in what you are reading, just like in a “real book.” Please feel free to share any other thoughts on e-readers. I never thought I would be considering buying one… now I’m getting excited!

Happy new year! Happy reading!

9 Responses

  1. Happy New Year to you and your family. Have a great reading 2011!!!

    Here is my Sunday Salon post!

  2. I admit even though I own the kindle, I’m always tempted by the Nook because of all the cool things you can do (like taking it into the store and getting coupons or reading for free for a few hours; or lending books to friends!).

  3. I love my iPad. I talked a coworker into getting two Nooks for her two daughters….I hope the girls like them!

  4. Happy New Year! I was thinking about buying an ereader earlier last year. I don’t know if I’m going to buy one yet. I need to read some of my TBR pile first! Good luck on your goals. Have a great week.

  5. gautami tripathy – Happy New Year to you too!

    Amanda – I do like those features of the NOOK!

    Debnance – I bet they did!

    Vasilly – I am thinking more and more about it… I really think I might end up getting myself one. I’ll be posting about it if I do!

  6. The only thing I’ve used is a first-generation Kindle (that is kind of on a long-term loan – long story) and I do like it, but I think that I will definitely check out the other readers if we decide to buy one for ourselves.

  7. Alyce — I’m getting more and more excited about getting one! I really think I might make a purchase next weekend. :-)

  8. My girlfriend just got a nook and I think later this year they are making all these apps for it so it will be like an I Pad. At least that’s what her hubby told her. Enjoy your new toy :)

  9. Jennygirl – Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

