Read-a-Thon Picks and Hour 1 Meme

Read-a-thon! Read-a-thon! Woo hoo!

Where are you reading from today?

Vermont

3 facts about me …

  1. I  teach first grade and I have 7 different countries/languages represented in my classroom!
  2. I am still terrified of going down into the basement at night after seeing The Blair Witch Project over 10 years ago!
  3. I have 2 dogs.

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?

I have two books started:

  1. Shutter Island, by Dennis Lehand
  2. Teach Like a Champion, by Doug Lemov

I’m hoping to finish or at least get a good chunk of these books done. I hurt my back a few weeks ago, and sitting has been difficult so I’m really behind in my reading. This weekend, my back is doing so much better and I’m looking forward to curling up in my favorite chair with my books. Once the library opens, I’ll be making a trip over there to pick up a couple other books to add some variety. I am in the mood for a graphic novel, but I don’t have a specific one in mind. Any suggestions?

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?

Just to relax and enjoy myself!

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time?

Have fun!

 

6 Responses

  1. The Blair Witch Project! That brings back memories, for sure.

  2. Happy Readathon! I can’t wait to hear what you think of Shutter Island; I loved the movie, but haven’t read the book yet.

  3. Nan,

    Thanks for posting! I used this meme of yours as my first Live Read-a-Thon post (1.5 hours in).
    Graphic novels by Neil Gaiman (the Sandman series) are amazing!! I hope you find some :)

    Have fun, I have to step out for a 3 hour dinner now…..would rather read!

  4. Shutter Island! I remember watching The Blair Witch Project for the first time and having to sleep with my light on for a few days afterwards so I understand about the basement.

    Have you read the Fables series before? It’s by Bill Wilingham. Or the Bone series by Jeff Smith. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi or anything by Kazu Kibuishi.

  5. Cheering you on for Team Metaphor, sounds like you’re off to a great start!

  6. Cheering for you Nan!! :D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

