TSS: Stephen Huneck (January 10, 2010)

You can see other Sunday Salon posts and join in on the fun at The Sunday Salon.

On Friday, I read in my local paper that Vermont artist and author, Stephen Huneck, passed away on Thursday. He killed himself after battling with depression.

As a first grade teacher and as a dog owner, I am a big fan of Stephen Huneck’s books and art work. I own all of his “Sally” books, with some of them being autographed. I was fortunate enough to meet Stephen Huneck at two different signings.

He also created and built Dog Chapel, in his words:

I wanted to build a chapel, one that celebrated the spiritual bond we have with our dogs, and that would be open to dogs and people. People of any faith or belief system.

I have never had the chance to visit Dog Chapel, but I hope to go some day.

Stephen Huneck celebrated the bond between dogs and human in his art work and books. I know there are many furry friends that greeted Stephen Huneck as he passed from this world.

For more about Stephen Huneck:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

