Nan’s Notes: The Maze Runner

The Maze Runner tells the story of a group of boys and one girl, who are trying to solve the mystery of the maze. These kids live together in the Glade, a large walled in area surrounded by a giant maze. At night the maze is crawling withe creatures that try to kill the boys.  Every few weeks, a new boy is sent to join the group. Everyone in the Glade has their own job such as cook, gardener, and runner. The runners are the kids who spend everyday running through the changing maze to try to map it out and find an escape. Newcomers have no previous memories and no knowledge of where they came from.

I was expecting to zip through this book and love every minute of it. Unfortunately, I had a very tough time getting into the story. One part of the story that was tough for me was all the slang. It was very distracting at first and it took me quite awhile to get used to it. The author may have used the slang so that we could better relate to Thomas. Thomas was the last boy to arrive in the glade. He was confused and had trouble understanding what was going on around him. That is how I felt with all the slang going back and forth between the kids. I really wanted to get lost in this fictional place, but I just couldn’t get that deep into the story.

Once I was half way through the book, things changed.  I found myself suddenly invested in the characters and wanting to find out what would happen next. I read the last half of the book in just 2 days because I was  much more into the story at that point.

I bought this copy of the book at the book store. The sequel to this book (The Scorch Trials) comes out in October 2010. I don’t know if I will buy the sequel or if I will take it out of the library. I do know that I will be reading it.

Here is an  interview with James Dashner on Barnes and Nobel’s Meet the Writers Podcast.

Challenges:

4 Responses

  1. I’ve heard other people complain about the slang, too. for some reason, this book just doesn’t interest me at all. I’m not sure why, since I normally like dystopias, but this one hasn’t made it to my wishlist.

  2. I wasn’t aware of the issue with slang, although I’ve read several reviews of this book. I do want to read it someday!

  3. I have this but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I guess they plan these so that the sequels are out the next year because I had no idea that another book was coming around so soon.

  4. Amanda – I’m glad the slang problem isn’t just me.

    Jeane – I do want to read the sequel. I want to see if I get into the story faster than the first one.

    Nicole – Sometimes a year feels like forever when you really want something to come out and other times it comes by so fast!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

